Super2 Series field takes shape

The 2018 Dunlop Super2 Series field is taking shape

There is more clarity around the make-up of the 2018 Dunlop Super2 Series after the announcements of Garry Jacobson’s and Shae Davies’ drives.

Though yet to be finalised, no fewer than 23 cars have been announced ahead of the season-opening round in Adelaide early next month.

Key changes include 2016 series winner Jacobson moving from Tickford Racing to MW Motorsport, taking the place of Paul Morris Motorsport-bound Shae Davies.

At Tickford, Tom Randle is set to make his transition into touring cars after a junior career largely spent racing single seaters.

There’s a trio of entries for Brad Jones Racing, with Zane Goddard joining Jack Smith and Macauley Jones, while Chris Pither fills the Garry Rogers Motorsport seat vacated by Richard Muscat.

Eggleston will field four cars out of its stable, as well as supporting Brenton Grove in what effectively amounts to a five-car effort from the squad.

Paul Dumbrell, Will Brown, and Nathan Morcom all remain with the squad, which welcomes 2017 Australian Endurance Championship winner Dominic Storey.

Bryce Fullwood and Tyler Greenbury have moved to Matt Stone Racing, from MWM and Eggleston’s Kumho V8 Touring Car Series squad respectively.

MSR will also compete in the Virgin Australian Supercars Championship for the first time with its 2017 Super2 Series winner Todd Hazelwood.

Joining him are Jack Le Brocq (Tekno Autosports), Anton De Pasquale (Erebus Motorsport), and James Golding (GRM), the latter of whom sat out last year’s series but ran as a wildcard in the Championship on top of his Pirtek Enduro Cup duties alongside Garth Tander.

The opening round takes place on the streets of Adelaide from March 1-4.

Provisional 2018 Dunlop Super2 Series field

Team Driver Car
Tickford Racing Tom Randle FGX Falcon
Brad Jones Racing Zane Goddard VF Commodore
Brad Jones Racing Macauley Jones VF Commodore
Brad Jones Racing Jack Smith VF Commodore
Grove Racing Brenton Grove VF Commodore
Matt Stone Racing Tyler Greenbury VF Commodore
Matt Stone Racing Bryce Fullwood FGX Falcon
Image Racing Adam Marjoram VF Commodore
Image Racing Jordan Boys VF Commodore
Matt Chahda Motorsport Matt Chahda VF Commodore
MW Motorsport Dean Fiore Nissan Altima
MW Motorsport Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima
MW Motorsport Alex Rullo Nissan Altima
Eggleston Motorsport Will Brown VF Commodore
Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom VF Commodore
Eggleston Motorsport Dom Storey VF Commodore
Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell VF Commodore
Garry Rogers Motorsport Chris Pither VF Commodore
Garry Rogers Motorsport Mason Barbera VF Commodore
Kostecki Brothers Racing Kurt Kostecki VF Commodore
Kostecki Brothers Racing Jake Kostecki VF Commodore
Kostecki Brothers Racing Brodie Kostecki VF Commodore
Paul Morris Motorsport Shae Davies FGX Falcon

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]