SuperUtes entries falling into place

Daniel Herrero

Monday 12th February, 2018 - 2:51pm


A dozen SuperUtes are expected in Adelaide

A dozen SuperUtes are expected to start in the first round of the inaugural series in Adelaide, likely including an entry from Supercars squad Team 18. believes that the team, which fields Lee Holdsworth in a Preston Hire Racing Commodore in Supercars, will run a Holden Colorado out of its Melbourne base.

Team owner Charlie Schwerkolt was non-committal when the question of a SuperUtes entry was put to him today.

“Not sure about that news at all yet,” he told

“There might be something happening but I can’t really reveal anything yet.” can confirm that Sieders Racing Team will take the greatest contingent to Adelaide, with two Mitsubishi Tritons and three Toyota Hiluxes, of which two of the latter will be run for Aussie Racing Cars outfit Western Sydney Motorsport.

The SRT Hilux will be filled by Matt Mackelden and the WSM cars by Craig Woods and Ben Walsh.

Craig Dontas will drive one of the Tritons with the identity of the driver of the second car to be announced shortly.

A third Triton is likely to be added partway into the season.

Ross Stone Racing will run two cars, a Holden Colorado for his own team and the Isuzu D-Max for Steve Wilson and his eponymous team.

The Colorado is unlikely, however, to be raced by Kim Jane, who has all but ruled himself out of a drive due to a budgetary shortfall.

Christopher Formosa’s Ford Ranger is now set to be run out of his own team, despite having originally also come under the RSR banner.

Formosa had raced a Commodore with RSR in the V8 Ute Racing Series.

Peters Motorsport’s line-up of Aaron Cameron and three-time V8 Utes series winner Ryal Harris had already been confirmed for its two Mazda BT-50s.

A Balance of Performance test will take place tomorrow at Queensland Raceway before the ECB SuperUte Series starts at the Adelaide 500 on March 1-4.

SuperUtes: Likely Adelaide entry list (Updated)

Team Car Driver
Peters Motorsport Mazda BT-50 Aaron Cameron
Peters Motorsport Mazda BT-50 Ryal Harris
Ranger Racing Ford Ranger Christopher Formosa
Ross Stone Racing Holden Colorado Tom Alexander
Steve Wilson Racing Isuzu D-Max Steve Wilson Prepared by RSR
Sieders Racing Team Mitsubishi Triton Craig Dontas
Sieders Racing Team Mitsubishi Triton Toby Price
Sieders Racing Team Toyota Hilux Matt MacKelden
Western Sydney Motorsport Toyota Hilux Ben Walsh Run by SRT
Western Sydney Motorsport Toyota Hilux Craig Woods Run by SRT
Team 18 Holden Colorado TBA
Total 12 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!