Sato sets pace in Phoenix IndyCar test

Sunday 11th February, 2018 - 4:40pm


Takuma Sato

Takuma Sato has emerged fastest from the official IndyCar test at Phoenix Raceway, ahead of Will Power.

Power briefly held the fastest lap during the night session, a 19.3878s from his Team Penske Chevrolet, before Sato took his Rahal Letterman Lanigan Rahal around the mile-long oval in 19.3790s.

Will Power

Sato was therefore fastest in three of the four three-hour sessions and second to only team-mate Graham Rahal on the Friday night.

Rahal failed to improve on the Saturday and ended up fifth-fastest on combined times, behind Tony Kanaan (AJ Foyt Chevrolet) and 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series champion Josef Newgarden (Team Penske Chevrolet).

Scott Dixon spun his Chip Ganassi Honda into the wall having set a time good enough for eighth-fastest.

The New Zealander got loose in traffic but incurred relatively minor damage.

Matheus Leist twice scraped the wall in his AJ Foyt Chevrolet in the final half-hour, but ended up the fastest rookie in 13th.

The season proper opens with the Grand Prix of St Petersburg on March 9-11.

Combined results: Phoenix test

Pos Num Driver Team C/E/T Time Session
1 30 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan D/H/F 0:19.3790 Sat evening
2 12 Will Power Team Penske D/C/F 0:19.3878 Sat evening
3 14 Tony Kanaan AJ Foyt Racing D/C/F 0:19.4018 Sat evening
4 1 Josef Newgarden Team Penske D/C/F 0:19.4257 Sat evening
5 15 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan D/H/F 0:19.4574 Fri evening
6 98 Marco Andretti Andretti Herta w/ Curb-Agajanian D/H/F 0:19.4658 Sat evening
7 27 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport D/H/F 0:19.4729 Sat evening
8 9 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing D/H/F 0:19.5152 Sat evening
9 22 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske D/C/F 0:19.5256 Fri evening
10 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport D/H/F 0:19.5358 Sat a’noon
11 18 Sebastien Bourdais DCR w/ Vasser-Sullivan D/H/F 0:19.5746 Sat a’noon
12 10 Ed Jones Chip Ganassi Racing D/H/F 0:19.6019 Sat a’noon
13 4 Matheus Leist (R) AJ Foyt Racing D/C/F 0:19.6296 Sat a’noon
14 21 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing D/C/F 0:19.6425 Sat evening
15 19 Pietro Fittipaldi (R) Dale Coyne Racing D/H/F 0:19.6521 Sat evening
16 6 Robert Wickens (R) Schmidt Peterson D/H/F 0:19.7495 Sat a’noon
17 26 Zach Veach (R) Andretti Autosport D/H/F 0:19.7560 Sat evening
18 23 Charlie Kimball Carlin D/C/F 0:19.7618 Sat evening
19 59 Max Chilton Carlin D/C/F 0:19.8278 Sat evening
20 88 Gabby Chaves Harding Racing D/C/F 0:19.9229 Sat evening
21 20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing D/C/F 0:19.9759 Sat evening
22 5 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson D/H/F 0:20.0465 Fri evening
23 32 Kyle Kaiser (R) Juncos Racing D/C/F 0:20.2367 Fri a’noon

(C)hassis: D=Dallara | (E)ngine: C=Chevy, H=Honda | (T)yre: F=Firestone comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!