DCR confirms Claman DeMelo to share with Fittipaldi

Thursday 8th February, 2018 - 1:00pm


Zachary Claman DeMelo pic: Zachary Claman DeMelo Twitter

Zachary Claman DeMelo has been confirmed as the driver to share the #19 Dale Coyne Racing IndyCar with Pietro Fittipaldi.

Fittipaldi’s seven-race deal was announced a day earlier, with Claman DeMelo’s signing largely expected to follow.

The Canadian made his Verizon IndyCar Series debut with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing in last year’s season finale at Sonoma.

On that occasion, he carried the backing of international payments provider Paysafe, which will sponsor the #19 DCR car in 2018.

“Paysafe helped me attain a life ambition last September when I made my Verizon IndyCar Series debut in Sonoma,” said Claman DeMelo.

“I am hugely grateful for their ongoing support as I prepare for the forthcoming races.

“I feel proud to be representing their brand again on the racetrack and I shall be doing all I can to get the Paysafe car into victory lane.”

Claman DeMelo, who has tested with DCR at Sebring and Sonoma, will test again at the former before his first start with the team in the season-opener in St Petersburg on March 9-11.

He is set down for 10 starts, with Fittipaldi at this stage given the #19 Honda for the Indianapolis 500 alongside team-mates Sebastien Bourdais and regular one-off Brickyard entrant Pippa Mann.

The confirmation completes the line-up of full-time entries for the 2018 season.

IndyCar Series 2018 full-time entries

Team Num Driver(s) Engine
Team Penske 1 Josef Newgarden Chevrolet
Team Penske 12 Will Power Chevrolet
Team Penske 22 Simon Pagenaud Chevrolet
AJ Foyt Racing 4 Matheus Leist Chevrolet
AJ Foyt Racing 14 Tony Kaanan Chevrolet
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 5 James Hinchcliffe Honda
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 6 Robert Wickens Honda
Chip Ganassi Racing 9 Scott Dixon Honda
Chip Ganassi Racing 10 Ed Jones Honda
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 15 Graham Rahal Honda
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 30 Takuma Sato Honda
Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser-Sullivan 18 Sebastien Bourdais Honda
Dale Coyne Racing 19 Zachary Claman DeMelo (10 races)
Pietro Fittipaldi (7 races)
Ed Carpenter Racing 20 Ed Carpenter (Ovals)
Jordan King (Roads/streets)
Ed Carpenter Racing 21 Spencer Pigot Chevrolet
Andretti Autosport 26 Zach Veach Honda
Andretti Autosport 27 Alexander Rossi Honda
Andretti Autosport 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Honda
Andretti Autosport with Curb-Agajanian 98 Marco Andretti Honda
Carlin 23 Charlie Kimball Chevrolet
Carlin 59 Max Chilton Chevrolet
Harding Racing 88 Gabby Chaves Chevrolet comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!