Pietro Fittipaldi signs for Dale Coyne Racing

Pietro FIttipaldi testing the #19 DCR Honda at Sonoma

The 2018 IndyCar Series’ regular line-up is all but locked in with confirmation that Pietro Fittipaldi will compete in seven races for Dale Coyne Racing.

Fittipaldi was given his first drive of an IndyCar by DCR in testing at Sebring in late-January, and also took part in an unofficial test with DCR at Sonoma a day prior to the announcement.

“This is a dream come true, even more so to be racing in the Indy 500, where my family already has a history of great results,” said the 21-year-old grandson of two-time world drivers’ champion and two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Emerson.

“I want to thank the entire team at Dale Coyne Racing, along with Escuderia Telmex for this massive opportunity and important step in my career.

“It’s no secret that I also have an objective to one day race in Formula 1, so I’m excited to be racing on a world stage like IndyCar this year.”

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of the INDYCAR SERIES. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

Fittipaldi’s IndyCar races in car #19 will be Phoenix (oval), the Indianapolis road course, the Indianapolis 500, Texas (oval), Mid-Ohio (road course), Portland (road course), and Sonoma (road course).

The Brazilian, who won last year’s World Series Formula V8 3.5 title, will also take part in this Thursday’s rookie test day at Phoenix, before the full field runs on the Friday and Saturday.

The Fittipaldi news come off the back of the announcement that DCR would be joined by Jimmy Vasser and James Sullivan as partners in running the #18 entry for Sebastien Bourdais.

Zachary Claman DeMelo is widely expected to race car #19 for the balance of the season, though the Canadian’s signing has not yet been confirmed.

IndyCar Series 2018 full-time entries

Team Num Driver(s) Engine
Team Penske 1 Josef Newgarden Chevrolet
Team Penske 12 Will Power Chevrolet
Team Penske 22 Simon Pagenaud Chevrolet
AJ Foyt Racing 4 Matheus Leist Chevrolet
AJ Foyt Racing 14 Tony Kaanan Chevrolet
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 5 James Hinchcliffe Honda
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports 6 Robert Wickens Honda
Chip Ganassi Racing 9 Scott Dixon Honda
Chip Ganassi Racing 10 Ed Jones Honda
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 15 Graham Rahal Honda
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 30 Takuma Sato Honda
Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser-Sullivan 18 Sebastien Bourdais Honda
Dale Coyne Racing 19 Pietro Fittipaldi (7 races)
Ed Carpenter Racing 20 Ed Carpenter (Ovals)
Jordan King (Roads/streets)
Ed Carpenter Racing 21 Spencer Pigot Chevrolet
Andretti Autosport 26 Zach Veach Honda
Andretti Autosport 27 Alexander Rossi Honda
Andretti Autosport 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Honda
Andretti Autosport with Curb-Agajanian 98 Marco Andretti Honda
Carlin 23 Charlie Kimball Chevrolet
Carlin 59 Max Chilton Chevrolet
Harding Racing 88 Gabby Chaves Chevrolet

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]