Vergne heads Techeetah 1-2 in Santiago ePrix

Mat Coch

Sunday 4th February, 2018 - 8:59pm


Jean-Eric Vergne fends off Nelson Piquet Jnr at the start

Jean-Eric Vergne has headed a Techeetah 1-2 ahead of team-mate Andre Lotterer at the Santiago ePrix.

Vergne headed home Lotterer in an exciting finish that saw the pair make contact on multiple occasions.

Starting from pole, Vergne headed the field from the off despite a challenge from the fast-starting Nelson Piquet Jnr.

The Jaguar driver made an early challenge for the lead, before the Safety Car emerged for two separate incidents on the opening lap for Jose Maria Lopez and Maro Engel.

At the restart, Vergne edged away from the field, maintaining top spot until the flag.

However he came under pressure in the back half of the race, when Lotterer found a way through on Piquet before chasing down Vergne, who’d been forced to slow with radio problems.

There was a similarly dramatic battle for the final podium position, with Sebastien Buemi getting the batter of Piquet, who slipped to sixth at the flag.

Lucas Di Grassi retired shortly after his mid-race pit stop, the race notable for the first not to mandate a minimum pit stop time.

The result sees Vergne extend his championship advantage after four races over Felix Rosenqvist, who ended the race fourth.

Formula E stays in the Americas for the next event, heading to Mexico City on March 4 for the fifth race of the 2017/18 season.

Race results: Race 4, Santiago

Pos Num Driver Team Race time/Split
1 25 Jean-Éric Vergne Techeetah 1:01:24.514 (37 laps)
2 18 André Lotterer Techeetah +1.154
3 9 Sébastien Buemi Renault e.dams +1.959
4 19 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing +2.793
5 2 Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing +4.490
6 3 Nelson Piquet Jr. Panasonic Jaguar Racing +6.364
7 20 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing +7.099
8 7 Jérôme d’Ambrosio Dragon Racing +13.308
9 28 António Félix da Costa MS&AD Andretti Formula E +14.811
10 8 Nico Prost Renault e.dams +21.092
11 27 Tom Blomqvist MS&AD Andretti Formula E +32.924
12 68 Luca Filippi NIO Formula E Team +44.127
13 4 Edoardo Mortara Venturi Formula E Team +49.398
14 16 Oliver Turvey NIO Formula E Team +1:12.282
DNF 36 Alex Lynn DS Virgin Racing
DNF 23 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing
DNF 1 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler
DNF 66 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler
DNF 6 José María López Dragon Racing
DNF 5 Maro Engel Venturi Formula E Team

Championship points: After Race 4

Pos Driver Pts
1 Jean-Éric Vergne 71
2 Felix Rosenqvist 66
3 Sam Bird 61
4 Sébastien Buemi 37
5 Nelson Piquet Jr. 33
6 Edoardo Mortara 24
7 Mitch Evans 21
8 Nick Heidfeld 21
9 André Lotterer 18
10 Daniel Abt 12
11 António Félix da Costa 10
12 Oliver Turvey 8
13 José María López 8
14 Alex Lynn 8
15 Nico Prost 7
16 Maro Engel 6
17 Tom Blomqvist 4
18 Jérôme d’Ambrosio 4
19 Luca Filippi 1
20 Lucas di Grassi 0
21 Kamui Kobayashi 0
22 Neel Jani 0 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!