Correa wins Taupo TRS opener

Juan Manuel Correa pix: Bruce Jenkins

Juan Manuel Correa has led all the way in Race 1 of the penultimate round of the Castrol Toyota Racing Series in Taupo.

Correa (United States) qualified on pole and won the start, though it was a nervous 15-lap journey given that he thought his start was in fact too good.

“I pushed hard all the way,” explained Correa.

“The team told me I was under investigation for jumping the start and needed to get as big a gap as possible in case I was penalised five seconds.”

The penalty never came, leaving him free to take his second victory of the series having also won the reverse-gridder at Teretonga Park a fortnight earlier.

James Pull (Great Britain) beat Richard Verschoor to second position, having got underneath the Dutchman at the start.

Verschoor tried a number of times to regain the position but remained in third, himself having to fend off Robert Shwartzman (Russia).

Marcus Armstrong (Christchurch) had a relatively uneventful race to fifth and holds a slightly reduced series lead as a result.

The five New Zealanders finished in consecutive positions, with Reid Harker (Auckland) sixth, then Ryan Yardley (Christchurch), Brendon Leitch (Invercargill), and Taylor Cockerton (Pukekohe).

Another two races will take place tomorrow at Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park, including the Denny Hulme Memorial Trophy race.

Castrol Toyota Racing Series, Round 4, Taupo, Race 1, 15 laps (Top 10)

1, Juan-Manuel Correa (USA);
2, James Pull (England);
3, Richard Verschoor (Netherlands);
4, Robert Shwartzman (Russia);
5, Marcus Armstrong (Christchurch);
6, Reid Harker (Albany);
7, Ryan Yardley (Christchurch);
8, Brendon Leitch (Invercargill);
9, Taylor Cockerton (Pukekohe);
10, Clement Novalak (England).

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]