Audi back on top in final Bathurst practice

Audi continues to shine at the Bathurst 12 Hour

Audi has set an ominous pace heading into qualifying following a truncated final practice session at the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour.

Former Nurburgring 24 Hour winner Christopher Haase posted the fastest time of the weekend so far with a 2:03.06s effort in the dying minutes of the hit-out.

Audi and BMW continued to dominate the top of the timesheets as the marques filled the top five positions.

Kelvin van der Linde had led the session before Haase’s effort but his time was good enough to ensure Audi Sport Customer Racing Australia left the 50 minute session with a 1-2.

The South African is sharing the R8 with Supercars star Garth Tander and factory Audi pilot Frederic Vervisch.

The #43 Schnitzer BMW of Chaz Mostert, Marco Wittmann and Augusto Farfus was third fastest, with Wittmann’s best lap 0.8s adrift of the pace.

BMW Team SRM ended up fourth courtesy of Philipp Eng’s time which had put the car top of the times early in the session.

Fresh from an off-site visit to repair the car following a crash in Practice 4, Kiwi team International Motorsport slotted into fifth and fastest in Pro-Am.

This lap arrived after an incident with the #37 WRT Audi at Murray’s Corner.

Seven-time Supercars champion Jamie Whincup hauled the SunEnergy1 Mercedes-AMG to sixth albeit 1.2s shy of the pace.

Bentley Team M-Sport finished seventh despite suffering contact twice with the #85 Class B Porsche on the run to The Cutting.

Steven Kane set the time in the #17 Continental GT3 which is making is final factory appearance this weekend.

The #3 Audi headed the Am class following Daniel Gaunt’s time that put the entry eighth overall.

A throttle sensor issue saw the #58 YNA Autosport McLaren of Shane van Gisbergen, Craig Lowndes and Come Ledogar spend the majority of the session in the garage.

The car finished the session in 31st position.

Practice 5 was interrupted by two red flag periods.

A spin from Michael Caine in the #66 Daytona Viper on the entry to The Cutting was the first stoppage.

Caine lost control on his own and was lucky to avoid contact with the barriers.

However, Zane Goddard in the #94 MARC Mazda wasn’t so lucky as he smashed into the wall on the run to Reid Park with 20 minutes to go, causing the second red flag.

The Gold Coast driver ran wide and was unable to recover the car before heavy contact which severely damaged the car.

“It looks like he’s just run wide up under the tree there and got the wall on the exit. (It’s) pretty fast up there,” said MARC Cars boss Ryan McLeod.

“We hope the driver’s alright, the cars are very safe, very strong, and we put a lot of work into the engineering of the safety equipment and parts that are in the car.

“So I’m sure he’ll be okay. He’ll be a bit sore but just over the way there we do have a spare car so it is entered, so if we need it we can call on it.”

Class B was headed by the #23 Porsche, while Class C was topped by the #44 BMW Team SRM M4 GT4.

Meanwhile, the #91 MARC entry was quickest in the Invitational Class.

Qualifying will begin at 1105 with a 45 minutes session for all classes.

The GT3s will return to the track for qualifying at 1155 local time/AEDT.

Results: Practice 5

Pos Num Team Drivers Car Class Time Split
1 74 Valvoline Jamecpem C.Haase
Audi R8 LMS APP 2:03.0618
2 22 Valvoline / Jamecpem G.Tander
K.van der Linde
Audi R8 LMS APP 2:03.4493 0:00.3875
3 43 BMW M Power A.Farfus
BMW M6 GT3 APP 2:03.9013 0:00.8395
4 100 Laser Plumbing and Electrical S.Richards
BMW M6 GT3 APP 2:04.1807 0:01.1189
5 82 “Bolt Masters, Castrol” A.Bagnall
Audi R8 LMS APA 2:04.2651 0:01.2033
6 75 Mercedes-AMG Team SunEnergy1 K.Habul
Mercedes AMG GT3 APP 2:04.3148 0:01.2530
7 17 Bentley Team M-Sport S.Kane
Bentley Continental APP 2:04.4574 0:01.3956
8 3 Audi Sport Customer Racing A.Samadi
Audi R8 LMS AAM 2:04.6863 0:01.6245
9 29 Haemokinisis/Trofeo Estate J.Manolios
Lamborghini Huracan APA 2:04.6994 0:01.6376
10 11 Objective Racing T.Walls
McLaren 650S APA 2:04.9082 0:01.8464
11 56 Mercedes-AMG Team Strakka M.Buhk
Mercedes AMG GT GT3 APP 2:04.9770 0:01.9152
12 991 EuroMechanica L.Vanthoor
Porsche 911 GT3 R APP 2:05.0729 0:02.0111
13 18 Bentley Team M-Sport A.Soucek
Bentley Continental APP 2:05.2401 0:02.1783
14 37 Audi Sport Team WRT R.Frijns
Audi R8 LMS APP 2:05.2553 0:02.1935
15 12 Ice Break & Virgin Australia D.Calvert-Jones
Porsche 991 GT3R APA 2:05.2854 0:02.2236
16 19 Daimler Trucks Brisbane D.Reynolds
Mercedes GT APA 2:05.4719 0:02.4101
17 777 The Bend Motorsport Park Y.Shahin
Lamborghini Gallardo APA 2:05.5538 0:02.4920
18 540 Boston Athletic Club T.Pappas
Porsche 911 GT3 R APA 2:05.7444 0:02.6826
19 69 Supabarn J.Koundouris
Audi R8 LMS AAM 2:06.2457 0:03.1839
20 911 Manthey-Racing R.Dumas
Porsche 911 APP 2:06.8488 0:03.7870
21 91 MARC Cars Australia R.Salmon
MARC II V8 I 2:07.1245 0:04.0627
22 66 Daytona Sportscars A.Macrow
Dodge Viper I 2:07.1465 0:04.0847
23 39 Audi Sport Team WRT P.Dalla Lana
Audi R8 LMS APA 2:07.1862 0:04.1244
24 47 YNA Autosport F.Ross
McLaren 650S GT3 APA 2:07.4150 0:04.3532
25 32 JBS Australia R.Lago
Lamborghini Gallardo APA 2:07.5502 0:04.4884
26 8 WM Waste Max Twigg Mercedes AMG GT3 APA 2:08.0653 0:05.0035
27 67 Gotzinger Smallgoods J.Camilleri
MARC II V8 I 2:08.7691 0:05.7073
28 23 Team Carrera Cup Asia A.Tang
Porsche 991 B 2:10.1768 0:07.1150
29 65 Daytona Sportscars D.Thomas
Daytona Coupe I 2:10.6099 0:07.5481
30 55 Strakka Racing N.Leventis
Mercedes AMG GT GT3 APP 2:10.8281 0:07.7663
31 58 YNA Autosport Shane van Gisbergen McLaren 650S GT3 APP 2:11.5227 0:08.4609
32 9 Hallmarc M.Cini
Audi R8 LMS APA 2:11.6421 0:08.5803
33 4 Grove Group S.Grove
Porsche GT3 Cup B 2:11.7947 0:08.7329
34 6 Safe-T-Stop R.Gartner
Lamborghini Gallardo AAM 2:11.8021 0:08.7403
35 54 MARC Cars Australia P.Morris
MARC II V8 I 2:12.0612 0:08.9994
36 96 GAP Solutions / SEKTOR J.Goodacre
MARC Focus V8 I 2:12.1905 0:09.1287
37 21 The Porsche Broker D.Stutterd
Porsche 911 B 2:12.2273 0:09.1655
38 85 Paul Reed Smith Guitars C.Putman
Porsche 911GT3-Cup B 2:13.2369 0:10.1751
39 93 MARC Cars Australia G.Denyer
MARC Mazda V8 I 2:14.9233 0:11.8615
40 95 Eastgate Engineering G.Taunton
MARC Focus V8 I 2:15.1246 0:12.0628
41 94 MARC Cars Australia Zane Goddard MARC Mazda V8 I 2:16.1567 0:13.0949
42 44 BP Ultimate D.Grant
BMW M4 GT4 C 2:16.8382 0:13.7764
43 30 Boat Works A.Seton
BMW M4 C 2:17.4333 0:14.3715
44 46 Prosport Performance GABH M.Schelp
Porsche Cayman PRO4 C 2:19.5725 0:16.5107
45 13 JET Battery Services D.Jorgensen
BMW M4 GT4 C 2:20.5581 0:17.4963
46 49 Interlloy T.Harrison
KTM X-Bow GT4 C 2:21.4088 0:18.3470
47 40 On Track Motorsport G.Mennell
Porsche 997 GT3 Cup B 2:21.4595 0:18.3977
48 48 Interlloy D.Crampton
KTM X-Bow GT4 C 2:22.3569 0:19.2951
49 77 Ginetta Australia C.Cowham
Ginetta G55 C 2:22.4285 0:19.3667

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]