Lines wins ahead of Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic

Friday 19th January, 2018 - 4:20pm


The Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic starts tonight at Premier Speedway

Steven Lines has staked his claim for a third Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic title, which starts this evening in Warrnambool, with victory in the King’s Challenge.

The Classic will begin in scorching conditions at Premier Speedway, with the stacked entry of 111 cars split into two across tonight and tomorrow.

The top 96 qualifiers make it through to Sunday’s showcase evening of finals.

Former Classic winners Kerry Madsen, Jamie Veal, Brooke Tatnell, Garry Brazier, Max Dumesny and American Tim Kaeding headline night one action.

McFadden’s title defence begins tomorrow along with the likes of Lines, Ian Madsen, and former Knoxville Nationals champion Jason Johnson.

Madsen is the favourite to win a fourth Classic title after a stellar summer.

Lines, however, will take great confidence ahead of the event’s 46th running having dominated the final warm-up event at Mount Gambier’s Borderline Speedway.

The South Australian had his team sold to new owners in December but put aside the turbulence of the last month to lead all 30 laps, having started from pole.

Defending Classic champion James McFadden and American Carson Macedo completed the podium. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!