Johnson: Bowe ‘deserves every accolade’

Bowe and Johnson won the 1994 Bathurst 1000

Dick Johnson has given his endorsement to the news that friend and long-time team-mate John Bowe will be inducted into the Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame presented by

Bowe enjoyed three of his greatest successes with Dick Johnson Racing, namely Bathurst 1000 wins in 1989 and 1994 and the Australian Touring Car Championship title in 1995.

Johnson was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2016

He and Johnson, who was himself inducted in 2016, were co-drivers for Bowe’s two victories in The Great Race.

The Tasmanian native was this morning announced as the second advance inductee into the Hall of Fame ahead of this year’s awards ceremony during the Australian Grand Prix weekend in Melbourne.

“Rightfully so,” Johnson declared to when asked for his thoughts on the news.

“It’s deserved with the number of championships the guy’s won, and still at the ripe old age of 65 or 75 or 95 or whatever he is, he’s still going,” mused the fellow touring car legend.

“He’s still very much a competitive person and not only that but he still hasn’t lost it.

DJR is set to hark back to its 1994 Bathurst 1000 win with another retro livery

1994 Bathurst 1000

“I think he deserves every accolade the guy gets because he’s dedicated his life to motorsport and has achieved an awful lot; (in) sportscars, open-wheelers, touring cars, and old clunkers like the Touring Car Masters.

“He’s ‘I’ve been everywhere man.’”

Bowe, now 63 years old, spent 11 seasons with DJR in a career which continues to this day predominantly in Touring Car Masters.

He has won the popular national series on five occasions and last year finished runner-up to Steven Johnson, who campaigned the Ford Mustang that Bowe previously owned and raced himself in TCM.

A strictly limited number of General Admission tickets for the Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame Induction Gala presented by are now on sale at for $295 each (incl GST).

The dinner will be held at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre on Friday March 23, 2018 at 1900 for a 1930 start.

See below for the current list of members of the Hall of Fame

2016 inductees

Circuit Racing

Sir Jack Brabham
Alan Jones
Phil Irving
Harry Firth
Bob Jane
Peter Brock
Dick Johnson
Allan Moffat
Frank Matich


Lionel van Praag
Jack Young
Jason Crump
Kel Carruthers
Wayne Gardner
Mick Doohan
Casey Stoner
Gregg Hansford
Troy Bayliss
Stephen Gall
Jeff Leisk


Ray Revell
Garry Rush


‘Gelignite’ Jack Murray
Colin Bond
Ross Dunkerton


James Courtney

Drag Racing

Ash Marshall


Mark Burrows

Land Speed

Norman ‘Wizard’ Smith

Administrative Services

Donald Kingsley Thompson

2017 inductees

Circuit Racing

Alexander Nicholas ‘Lex’ Davison
Jim Richards
Mark Skaife
Frank Gardner
Kevin Bartlett
Larry Perkins
Vern Schuppan

Motorcycle Racing

Keith Ronald Campbell
Thomas Edward Phillis
Troy Corser


Peter ‘Possum’ Bourne
Neal Bates
Coral Taylor

Motorcycle – Speedway

Arthur George ‘Bluey’ Wilkinson
Leigh Scott Adams

Motorcycle – Motocross

Ken Rumble

Drag Racing

Jim Read


John Pizarro

Speedway Cars

Johnny Stewart

Special Category

John Large – Administration
Ron Tauranac – Engineer

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]