Madsen ends night in fence in WSS Round 2

The aftermath of the Madsen-van Ginneken crash pic: Stephen Pickering

A controversial clash between Kerry Madsen and Tim van Ginneken brought a premature end to Round 2 of the 2017/18 QSS World Series Sprintcars and overshadowed James McFadden’s victory at Murray Bridge.

Madsen, the Round 1 winner 24 hours earlier, had to come through the B Main to make the final race of the night.

Starting from 15th, the reigning Australian Sprintcar Champion caught van Ginneken in the latter stages after the Victorian, who led the first 12 laps, went the other way to fifth position.

On Lap 32, Madsen got a run to the outside of van Ginneken and moved across in an attempt to complete the move at Turn 1.

However, van Ginneken tried to hold onto the position and the two hit hard, sending Madsen’s into the catch fence where it became tangled.

Madsen described it as “the stupidest move I’ve ever seen at a speedway,” while van Ginneken responded, “It’s not like Kerry’s never done that to anybody is it, so I’m certainly not going to lose any sleep over it.”

With the race therefore declared early, McFadden took a comprehensive win over Jason Johnson and Matt Egel.

Johnson, however, takes over the championship lead as a result of his second podium in as many nights.

KRE Speedweek continues tonight with Round 3 at Borderline Speedway in Mount Gambier.

Standings: After Round 2

Pos Num Driver Pts
1 W26 Jason Johnson 584
2 W17 James McFadden 580
3 S97 Matt Egel 557
4 S63 Ryan Jones 527
5 A1 Kerry Madsen 508
6 S81 Luke Dillon 464
7 V88 Dave Murcott 407
8 USA00 Cory Eliason 406
9 N99 Carson Macedo 387
9 S24 Ricky Maiolo 373
11 S19 Brad Keller 371
12 S78 Keke Falland 369
13 NQ3 Steven Lines 365
13 W2 Jamie Veal 355
15 S13 Brock Hallett 352
16 S27 Daniel Pestka 351
17 W12 Daniel Harding 338
18 S74 Jamie Cobby 324
18 S20 Glen Sutherland 303
20 S45 Jake Tranter 302
21 S4 Lisa Walker 299
22 V52 Darren Mollenoyux 297
23 V42 Jye O’Keeffe 295
24 S83 Shannon Barry 294
25 S14 Brendan Quinn 289
26 W80 James Inglis 287
27 V36 Tim Van Ginnekin 284
27 W14 Jason Pryde 263
29 V25 Jack Lee 257
30 W97 Mitchell Wormall 252
30 S10 Steven Caruso 245
32 Q23 Lachlan McHugh 244
33 Q59 Kevin Titman 239
34 S15 Aidan Hall 228
34 S71 Sam Putland 222
36 N56 Mick Saller 218
36 S96 Brendan Guerin 211
38 USA97 Dominic Scelzi 207
39 S72 Chad Ely 160
40 W25 Taylor Milling 158
41 W96 Aldo De Paoli 149
42 S88 Todd Wigzell 145
43 S5 Tregan Gates 140
44 S42 Jamie Hendry 81
45 S25 Justin Sloan 58

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]