Russell, Davison downgraded in driver rankings

FIA has released the 2018 driver rankings

David Russell and Alex Davison have had their FIA driver rating downgraded in the final rankings for the 2018 season.

Both Russell and Davison had been rated as Gold in the draft list published last month, but successfully challenged their rankings, and are now graded as Silver.

They were among only a handful of changes to the provisional list, which also saw Australian GT competitor Liam Talbot dropped from Silver to Bronze.

Russell will join Steve Owen and Roger Lago in a Lamborghini R-EX at the Bathurst 12 Hour in February.

Driver rankings are determined based on a complicated criteria matrix, which takes into account the driver’s age, experience and achievements at key events.

From 2018 however that process will be simplified, with category managers globally providing the FIA with the ten fastest laps from each driver at every race.

It is expected the new process will overcome anomalies of the existing system where a lower rated driver who achieves success as a co-driver is graded too highly.

The publication of the final driver rankings cannot be changed during the course of the season, though new drivers can submit a request to be graded and added to the list.

Driver Ranking
Earl Bamber Platinum
Jason Bright Platinum
Ryan Briscoe Platinum
Scott Dixon Platinum
Craig Lowndes Platinum
Richie Stanaway Platinum
Garth Tander Platinum
Shane van Gisbergen Platinum
Jamie Whincup Platinum
Craig Baird Gold
David Brabham Gold
Matt Campbell Gold
Dean Canto Gold
Will Davison Gold
Paul Dumbrell Gold
Mitch Evans Gold
Dean Fiore Gold
Matt Halliday Gold
Lee Holdsworth Gold
Rick Kelly Gold
Todd Kelly Gold
Warren Luff Gold
Scott McLaughlin Gold
James Moffat Gold
Chaz Mostert Gold
Steve Owen Gold
Nick Percat Gold
Jack Perkins Gold
Scott Pye Gold
David Reynolds Gold
Tim Slade Gold
Cam Waters Gold
Jonathon Webb Gold
Mark Winterbottom Gold
Caitlin Wood Gold
Michael Almond Silver
Scott Andrews Silver
Nathan Antunes Silver
Elliot Barbour Silver
Tim Blanchard Silver
Matthew Brabham Silver
Will Brown Silver
Jake Camilleri Silver
Jon Collins Silver
Hayden Cooper Silver
Tony D’Alberto Silver
Alex Davison Silver
Anton De Pasquale Silver
Grant Denyer Silver
Geoff Emery Silver
Jaxon Evans Silver
Nick Foster Silver
Jake Fouracre Silver
Daniel Gaunt Silver
Morgan Haber Silver
Peter Hackett Silver
Andre Heimgartner Silver
Brett Hobson Silver
Russell Ingall Silver
Matt Kingsley Silver
Jack Le Brocq Silver
Jono Lester Silver
Tony Longhurst Silver
Tim Macrow Silver
Marcus Marshall Silver
Barton Mawer Silver
Cam McConville Silver
George Miedecke Silver
Ryan Millier Silver
Dylan O’Keeffe Silver
Duvashen Padayachee Silver
Michael Patrizi Silver
Chris Pither Silver
Klark Quinn Silver
Paul Radisich Silver
Thomas Randle Silver
Fraser Ross Silver
David Russell Silver
Aaron Seton Silver
Mat Simmons Silver
Matthew Solomon Silver
Dom Storey Silver
Leanne Tander Silver
Aaron Tebb Silver
Jimmy Vernon Silver
Andrew Waite Silver
Ash Walsh Silver
Tony Bates Bronze
John Bowe Bronze
Marc Cini Bronze
Greg Crick Bronze
Tony Defelice Bronze
Adrian Deitz Bronze
Mark Eddy Bronze
Peter Edwards Bronze
Sam Fillmore Bronze
Peter Fitzgerald Bronze
Richard Gartner Bronze
John Goodacre Bronze
Dean Grant Bronze
Mark Griffith Bronze
Stephen Grove Bronze
Garry Holt Bronze
Sue Hughes Bronze
Keith Kassulke Bronze
James Koundouris Bronze
Theo Koundouris Bronze
Dean Koutsoumidis Bronze
Roger Lago Bronze
Renato Loberto Bronze
Wayne Mack Bronze
Peter Major Bronze
Jim Manolios Bronze
Steve McLaughlan Bronze
Andrew Miedecke Bronze
Tim Miles Bronze
Neale Muston Bronze
Tony Quinn Bronze
Peter Rullo Bronze
Rod Salmon Bronze
Ash Samadi Bronze
Yasser Shahin Bronze
Liam Talbot Bronze
Greg Taylor Bronze
Scott Taylor Bronze
Max Twigg Bronze
Tony Walls Bronze

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]