Formula Ford expands to seven rounds in 2018

The Australian Formula Ford Series will run a seven-round calendar in 2018 pic: Matthew Paul Photography

The Australian Formula Ford Series will be contested over seven rounds in 2018 including as a support category to Supercars’ first Tailem Bend event.

The 2018 series will otherwise be run over a mixture of state level meetings and the new Australian Motor Racing Series, with the count of seven rounds being one greater than this year.

The series will also incorporate three pointscoring rounds for the Formula Ford 1600 Series, while both the Duratec and 1600 (Kent) cars are eligible to enter all rounds.

“We are proud to be part of history, racing at the inaugural Supercars round at Tailem Bend,” said Formula Ford Association (FFA) administrator Phil Marrinon.

“Thanks to the organisers for giving us the opportunity to showcase Formula Ford, which continues to prove itself as Australia’s most popular open-wheel category.

“We have continued to focus on ensuring that the Formula Ford National Series remains cost effective to keep it accessible to those developing their careers in motorsport, and continuing the large grid sizes that we have been experiencing recently.”

The FFA has also announced that Marrinon will be stepping back from his role as series co-ordinator in 2018.

He will still continue as a volunteer FFA administrator but will give up his role on race weekends.

“The FFA has taken the national competition to great numbers in the last four years, focusing on reduced costs for competitors,” said Marrinon.

“I would like to thank Andrew Sill, John Van Leeuwen and Jeff Senior who were instrumental in establishing the new national series and the success of the championship from the outset.

“I would also like to thank all the competitors that have turned up to race, making this Australia’s best open wheel racing category.”

Marrinon will be replaced by Iccy Harrington, with the Driving Standards Observer role Harrington has held since 2014 to be taken up by Simon McMahon.

The series has also appointed a new Technical Director in Scott Black.

Australian Formula Ford Series 2018 Calendar

1 Mar 9-11 Winton AMRS
2 Apr 20-22 Queensland Raceway* QLD State
3 May 25-27 Wakefield Park NSW State
4 Jul 20-22 Sandown* VIC State
5 Aug 24-26 The Bend Supercars
6 Sep 28-30 Phillip Island VIC State
7 Oct 26-28 Sydney Motorsport Park* AMRS

* Denotes Formula Ford 1600 round

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]