WORLD WRAP: Thed Bjork wins WTCC title

Thed Bjork

World Touring Car Championship

Thed Bjork has won the 2017 World Touring Car Championship after a tough weekend for his only title challenger, Norbert Michelisz, in the final round in Qatar.

Tom Chilton won the Opening Race after prevailing in a battle with team-mate Mehdi Bennani.

The two Sebastien Loeb Racing Citroens ran one-two after passing pole-sitter Kevin Gleason (RC Motorsport Lada), before Chilton forced his way past Bennani on Lap 8 of 10.

Bjork extended his championship lead by finishing fifth, four positions ahead of Michelisz, who qualified 11th after brake problems in qualifying.

He sealed the title by finishing fourth in the Main Race in his Polestar Cyan Racing Volvo, running third until late on when he returned a favour to team-mate Nicky Catsburg, who had let Bjork past earlier in the race.

Michelisz could only drive his Castrol Honda to eighth.

Esteban Guerrieri (Castrol Honda) won the 12-lapper easily from pole position.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]