Supercars 2018 field takes shape

2017 Supercars field

The 2018 Virgin Australia Supercars grid is taking shape, with all but a handful of drivers locked away for the coming season.

It will be a season of change, with a host of the sport’s leading names over the last decade retiring at the end of the 2017 campaign.

Last week Nissan Motorsport’s Todd Kelly confirmed his retirement from full-time racing just day after fellow veteran Jason Bright did the same.

Meanwhile, Dale Wood and James Moffat will also be absent from the Supercars grid at next year’s Adelaide 500 in March.

James Golding has been confirmed as Moffat’s replacement at GRM while earlier this month Erebus Motorsport announced Anton de Pasquale had taken over the seat vacated by Wood.

Dunlop Super2 Series winner Todd Hazelwood will graduate to the main game with Matt Stone Racing, which has secured a Racing Entitlements Contract from the retiring Jason Bright.

There is still plenty to play out in the silly season as teams finalise their driver line-ups.

Prodrive is expected to confirm Richie Stanaway for its fourth entry having purchased a Racing Entitlements Contract from Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport, which has now transformed into 23Red Racing.

The new entity is poised to confirm Will Davison as its driver while Jack Le Brocq has been heavily linked to the seat at Tekno Autosports.

Nissan Motorsport is yet to announce its replacement for Todd Kelly although Andre Heimgartner is the favourite to land the drive.

As result of the shake up, there will two more Fords on the grid increasing the blue oval’s representatives to eight, alongside 14 Holdens and four Nissans.

Below outlines the full 2018 Supercars driver line-up so far, with those listed in italics predicted but yet to be confirmed.

Team Manufacturer Driver
DJR Team Penske Ford Fabian Coulthard
DJR Team Penske Ford Scott McLaughlin
Autobarn Lowndes Racing Holden Craig Lowndes
Red Bull Holden Racing Team Holden Shane van Gisbergen
Red Bull Holden Racing Team Holden Jamie Whincup
Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden Scott Pye
Walkinshaw Andretti United Holden James Courtney
Prodrive Racing Australia Ford Richie Stanaway
Prodrive Racing Australia Ford Mark Winterbottom
Prodrive Racing Australia Ford Cam Waters
Prodrive Racing Australia Ford Chaz Mostert
Nissan Motorsport Nissan Andre Heimgartner
Nissan Motorsport Nissan Rick Kelly
Nissan Motorsport Nissan Michael Caruso
Nissan Motorsport Nissan Simona de Silvestro
Brad Jones Racing Holden Nick Percat
Brad Jones Racing Holden Tim Slade
Tim Blanchard Racing Holden Tim Blanchard
Erebus Motorsport Holden David Reynolds
Erebus Motorsport Holden Anton de Pasquale
Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden Garth Tander
Garry Rogers Motorsport Holden James Golding
Charlie Schwerkolt Racing Holden Lee Holdsworth
Tekno Autosports Holden Jack Le Brocq
23Red Racing Ford Will Davison
Matt Stone Racing Ford Todd Hazelwood

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]