David Reynolds scoops Barry Sheene Medal 

David Reynolds

David Reynolds has received the Barry Sheene Medal at the Supercars Gala Awards in Sydney.

The Erebus Motorsport driver was awarded Supercars’ ‘best and fairest’ honour, which has been handed out annually since 2003.

Known as a colourful character in the paddock, Reynolds has emerged as a popular driver among fans.

The Albury-born driver has enjoyed a standout season headlined by an impressive drive to win the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 alongside Luke Youlden in October.

Reynolds finished seventh in the championship standings aided by a third place finish in Sunday’s final race of the season at the Coates Hire Newcastle 500.

“Honestly, I’m truly, truly, truly honoured, and I can’t thank everyone who voted for me enough, so thank you very, very much,” said Reynolds.

“I actually never thought I’d win this being myself and the way I am and the way I talk, so hopefully I’d like to think that this award is about just being yourself and being an individual.”

The night also saw series commentator and former driver Neil Crompton inducted into the Supercars Hall of Fame.

The 57-year-old enjoyed an active competitive career racing in the Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars  from 1987-2002, racing for the Holden Dealer Team, Holden Racing Team, Bob Forbes Motorsport, Wayne Gardner Racing, Glenn Seton Racing and Gibson Motorsport.

Since stepping back from competing, he has forged a successful media career working as a pit lane reporter, presenter and commentator for Supercars broadcasts on Network Ten, Seven and now Fox Sports.

Crompton also holds a position on the Supercars Commission.

The night also saw Jamie Whincup honoured after claiming his seventh Supercars title, while Todd Hazelwood was recognised for winning the Dunlop Super2 Series.

Rising Dunlop Super2 Series star Will Brown from Eggleston Motorsport won the coveted Mike Kable Young Gun Award.

Ford was Champion Manufacturer of the Year having dominated the race win tally this year.

The inaugural Coates Hire Newcastle 500, which attracted 192,242 fans over the weekend, was awarded the 2017 Best Event gong.

Scott McLaughlin was voted by the fans as the Most Popular driver, while Shell V-Power Racing was named as Best Presented team.

Virgin Australia Supercars Championship 2017 Series awards:

Best Presented Team – Fans’ Choice: Shell V-Power Racing
Most Popular Driver – Fans’ Choice: Scott McLaughlin, Shell V-Power Racing
Best Event – Fans’ Choice: Coates Hire Newcastle 500
Mike Kable Young Gun: Will Brown, Eggleston Motorsport
Dunlop Super2 Series Champion: Todd Hazelwood, Bigmate Racing
2017 Dunlop Super2 ARMOR ALL Pole Position: Todd Hazelwood, Bigmate Racing
2017 Supercars ARMOR ALL Pole Position: Scott McLaughlin, Shell V-Power Racing
Supercars Media Award: Connor O’Brien, Gold Coast Bulletin
Virgin Australia Best Volunteer Group: Wilson Security Sandown 500
Champion Manufacturer of the Year: Ford
Champion Team Award: Shell V-Power Racing
Hall of Fame Inductee: Neil Crompton
Barry Sheene Medal: David Reynolds, Erebus Penrite Racing
2017 Supercars Champion: Jamie Whincup, Red Bull Holden Racing Team

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]