Harris takes first blood in new Top Fuel season

Sunday 5th November, 2017 - 9:14am


The Top Fuel final pic: Grant Stephens/Cackling Pipes

Damien Harris has won Round 1 of 2017/18 Top Fuel competition at Sydney Dragway’s AC Delco East Coast Thunder.

Harris defeated reigning champion and fastest qualifier Wayne Newby in an all-Rapisarda Autosport International final round.

Earlier, Harris had beaten yet another team-mate in Ashley Sanford in the first round and then progressed past a red lighting Peter Xiberras in the semi-finals.

Pro Slammer went the way of American Frankie Taylor, who had to beat Mark Belleri in the semi-finals and then Paul Mouhayet in the final.

Mouhayet, however, takes the series lead with his second runner-up finish in as many rounds this season.

John Zappia, who was knocked out by Mouhayet in the semi-final, at least lowered the national record to 5.601s during his meet.

In Pro Stock, Aaron Tremayne beat Jason Hedges in the final with the quickest run of the day (6.994s).

Other winners were Brad Lemberg in Pro Bike, Chris Porter in Top Bike, Steve Reed in Pro Alcohol.

The 400 Thunder Series continues with New Year’s Thunder at Willowbank Raceway on January 6. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!