Blomqvist named as Andretti Formula E driver

Tom Blomqvist during Formula E testing in Valencia

BMW factory driver Tom Blomqvist will fill the second Formula E seat at Andretti Autosport in 2017/18.

Blomqvist shared testing duties with Alexander Sims at the official test in Valencia last month and has since been named on the championship’s entry list for the new season.

He takes the drive previously held by Robin Frijns, with the season-opener in Hong Kong marking the 23-year-old’s debut in the all-electric championship.

Blomqvist is also expected to remain part of BMW’s DTM line-up, although the German touring car series, which clashed with Formula E once last season, has yet to announce its 2018 calendar.

BMW is reported to have increased its engineering support of Andretti’s Formula E team before becoming a full factory operation in 2018/19.

Andretti and BMW had already considered the prospect of sharing the #27 entry between Sims and Blomqvist, and Sims could still race this season if Blomqvist ends up with a clashing commitment.

Formula E teams are allowed two driver changes per season, but not in the final three races unless it is a case of force majeure. Such cases are at the discretion of the race stewards at each event.

Formula E 2017-18 entry list

Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler Lucas di Grassi
Daniel Abt
DS Virgin Racing Sam Bird
Alex Lynn
Jaguar Racing Nelson Piquet Jr
Mitch Evans
Venturi Edoardo Mortara
Maro Engel
Dragon Neel Jani
Jerome d’Ambrosio
Renault e.dams Nicolas Prost
Sebastien Buemi
NIO Oliver Turvey
Luca Filippi
Mahindra Racing Felix Rosenqvist
Nick Heidfeld
Techeetah Andre Lotterer
Jean-Eric Vergne
Andretti Tom Blomqvist
Antonio Felix da Costa

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]