Hyundai confirms WRC driver rotation for 2018

Hyundai will rotate its WRC drivers in 2018

Hyundai has confirmed that its World Rally Championship drivers will have to share cars with none of its four factory drivers guaranteed a full season in 2018.

Team principal Michel Nandan revealed the Korean manufacturer would field three factory i20 Coupe WRC at the majority of rallies next year, prompting a rotation system on the outfit’s drivers.

The intention, according to Nandan, remains that Thierry Neuville and Andreas Mikkelsen will tackle all events, but underlined that this could not be set in stone.

Hayden Paddon and Dani Sordo are the drivers widely expected to be sharing a third car.

“Yes, Thierry and Andreas have the contract which says they do all the rallies but everybody has this contract,” said Nandan.

“We could not run four cars next year because of the budget, but maybe on a few events.

“So it’s sure with our four drivers we will have to share one car with two drivers.

“Normally it’s planned for Thierry and Andreas to start all the rallies, but we have to see – things can still change.”

Nandan also scotched speculation that Sordo could be in line to front a Hyundai team in the World Rallycross Championship.

Hyundai ran all four of its drivers on Rally GB last week, but Sordo and Paddon have otherwise been required to alternate in stepping aside since Mikkelsen was hired.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]