Winton owners launch Shannons Nationals rival

The Australian Formula 3 Premier Series will feature on the new Australian Motor Racing Series calendar

Winton Motor Raceway owner Benalla Auto Club (BAC) has launched a new national motorsport series known as the Australian Motor Racing Series (AMRS).

The AMRS will be held over six rounds across four states in 2018, and will be sanctioned by the Australian Auto Sport Alliance (AASA), which is also owned by BAC.

The series essentially forms a rival to the CAMS-owned Shannons Nationals series, and will host categories such as the Australian Formula Ford Series and Australian Formula 3 Premier Series.

CAMS cut both series’ championship status from 2016, and both have run predominantly at state-level meetings this year.

The AMRS will also welcome the new Aussie Racing Utes category, which will provide a home for V8 Utes raced in the existing series set to be replaced by SuperUtes.

Like Shannons Nationals, the AMRS also promises Sunday live streaming at each round, optional television highlights packages, and a PR package.

According to information released by AMRS, entry fees will be $395 to $595 per car per round.

The series will be managed by Winton operations manager Wayne Williams, who says that the series has drawn strong interest from a number of categories.

“We approached a number of categories and the response has been overwhelming, because of the value we have been able to offer competitors,” said Williams.

“There are some categories that will be at all six of our rounds, and others that will be part of a few rounds.

“Our format allows us to be flexible, and suit the needs of different categories.

“This is great for spectators and live-stream audiences, because it means there will be variety at each round and different stories to tell at every event.”

In addition to Aussie Racing Utes, the new RX8 Cup for Mazda RX8 cars will feature on the AMRS calendar.

“RX8 Cup is a brand-new category, so it made sense for us to align ourselves with a brand-new series as well,” said category manager Ric Shaw.

“From the dealings we’ve had with the series organisers, we can see it’s going to be totally focused on looking after the needs of the competitor.

“They’re very accommodating, and all about making things work for the competitors which is very positive.

“All the ingredients are there for it to be successful.”

Other categories which have already confirmed on the AMRS bill, at either some or all rounds, include the Giti Tyres Australian Super Truck Championship, HQ Holdens, and TA2.

AMRS management says it is also in discussion with  Sports Sedans, Superkarts, Pulsar Series, Excel Series, Porsche 944 Challenge and BMW Drivers Cup.

Winton and Wakefield Park, which BAC also owns, feature on the calendar, as well as Mallala, Morgan Park, and Sydney Motorsport Park.

The provisional calendar includes two clashes with Supercars events, namely April’s Tyrepower Tasmania Super Sprint and November’s Coates Hire Newcastle 500.

The former has also clashed with Shannons Nationals for the past two years.

Winton will book-end the calendar, which is set to begin on March 9-11.

Australian Motor Racing Series 2018 Calendar (Provisional)

1 Winton Raceway Mar 9-11
2 Mallala Apr 6-8
3 Morgan Park Jun 8-10
4 Wakefield Park Aug 17-19
5 Sydney Motorsport Park Oct 26-28
6 Winton Raceway Nov 23-25

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]