Slade joins Objective McLaren for Bathurst 12H

Tim Slade will once again pilot the Objective Racing McLaren at next year’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour

Supercars driver Tim Slade will headline Objective Racing’s attack for the 2018 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour.

The Brad Jones Racing driver rejoins the squad to pilot the Tony Walls owned McLaren 650S GT3 at the Mount Panorama GT endurance race from February 2-4.

Slade has contested the last two editions of the Bathurst 12 Hour with the McElrea Racing run squad, who were 20th in the results after a drama-filled race this year.

“It’s great to be heading back to Bathurst with Tony and the Objective Racing crew,” said Slade.

“Things haven’t gone to plan the last couple of years and we haven’t been able to get the kind of results we know we are capable of – but the car is fast and if things roll our way we know we will be competitive.

“Thanks to Tony for inviting me back. I’m really looking forward to getting back behind the wheel of those cars.”

The South Australian will once again join Australian GT regular Walls and Supercars co-driver Warren Luff, while the crew welcomes Porsche Carrera Cup Australia race winner Jaxon Evans to the fold.

Luff will bring a wealth of experience to the quartet having scored a Bathurst 12 Hour podium in 2011.

He has also finished on the podium in four of his last six Bathurst 1000 campaigns, including a second place for Mobil 1 HSV Racing earlier this month.

Evans joins the team after a successful debut season in Carrera Cup Australia which yielded five race wins.

The Kiwi has impressed in GT racing this year by winning the opening two Australian Endurance Championship races alongside Tim Miles in an Audi R8.

The duo finished second in Sunday’s Hampton Downs 500.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]