Moffat, Bond honoured in SMP corner renaming

Turn 2 at Sydney Motorsport Park is now Bond Bend

The first two corners at Sydney Motorsport Park have been renamed in honour of Allan Moffat’s and Colin Bond’s famous one-two in the 1977 Bathurst 1000.

Turn 1 has been named Moffat Corner, while Turn 2 will now be known as Bond Bend.

Moffat is a former board member of the Australian Racing Drivers’ Club, which manages Sydney Motorsport Park, and Bond a former president.

The 1977 one-two was commemorated earlier this month at the Bathurst 1000 when Mark Winterbottom’s Prodrive Racing Australia Falcon took on a retro livery mimicking the Moffat Ford Dealers XC Falcons of the day.

Moffat and Bond were also among the 13 inaugural inductees into Legends Lane, which will be built in time for next year’s Great Race.

The renaming announcement, made on the final day of the 2017 Muscle Car Masters meeting, comes after Sir Jack Brabham and Peter Brock were similarly acknowledged in 2012, shortly after the circuit itself was renamed.

The main straight was officially renamed Brabham Straight, while Turn 5 become known as ‘Brock’s 05’ in a nod to his iconic racing number.

In addition, the various circuit layouts are known as Gardner GP Circuit (traditional configuration), Brabham Circuit (Gardner GP plus 2012 extension), Druitt Circuit (short circuit), and Amaroo Circuit (Corporate Hill plus 2012 extension).

Moffat Corner

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]