MCM: Smith celebrates V8TC title with SMP sweep

Jack Smith pic: V8 Touring Cars

Kumho Tyre V8 Touring Car Series

Jack Smith added to his title-sealing Race 1 win with two more as the 2017 Kumho V8 Touring Car Series drew to a close at Sydney Motorsport Park’s Muscle Car Masters meeting.

Smith was without peer in both Sunday races, taking two dominant wins in the #21 Brad Jones Racing/SCT Logistics VE Commodore.

Tyler Greenbury (#38 Eggleston Motorsport VE Commodore) finished both races in second position to overhaul Michael Anderson (#11 Kenwood Homes FG Falcon) for second in the series.

Anderson was sent off-road at Corporate Hill early in the final race when he and Greenbury touched as the latter reclaimed second position, having made a tardy start.

The Bathurst driver dropped to fifth and ultimately came home fourth, having finished Race 2 in third.

Group C & Group A

Tony Alford took ‘Godzilla’ to another race win in Group C & Group A Touring Cars.

Jack Perkins took the early lead of the third combined race from the outside of the front row in a Perkins-built VN Commodore but Alford blazed past in the GIO GT-R at the end of the first lap.

As the top two stretched out, attention turned to the all-Sierra battle for third, with Terry Lawlor in an ex-Shell DJR example just beating home Carey McMahon’s Benson & Hedges Ford.

McMahon had opened the door for Lawlor to go through when he ran wide at Turn 2 on Lap 2.

Earlier, Perkins won the Group A-only race as Alford drove from rear of grid to third, behind McMahon.

Frank Binding took out the Group C race in an XD Falcon.

National Sports Sedans

Steven Lacey and Birol Cetin kept the Chevrolet Camaros in the ascendancy in National Sports Sedans.

Lacey backed up his Race 1 win with another in Race 2, in which Cetin finished second again.

They reversed the positions in Race 3, while Grant Doulman scored a hat-trick of third placings for the meeting.

Jack Perkins had another DNF in Race 2 and his Audi A4 did not reappear in Race 3.

Group Nb

Greg Toepfer took out the Trophy Race in Group Nb Historic Touring Cars, coming from behind to beat Race 2 winner Bob Munday.

Munday led into the first corner but Toepfer made the move on his fellow Ford Mustang driver on the fourth lap with his third attempt at trying to get past at Turn 2.

Matthew Windsor in a Ford Cortina finished third in all three races during the weekend.

Group Nc

David Wall completed a sweep of Group Nc in his Ford Mustang.

He barely beat Andrew Taite in Race 2, with a five-second time penalty officially narrowing the margin to 0.18s at the end, while the third encounter was far more comfortable for the new Carrera Cup champion.

Taite (Chevrolet Camaro) was a non-finisher in Race 3, with Bill Attard the runner-up in a Mazda RX2.

Torana Anniversary Race

Simon Phillips won the meeting’s Torana Anniversary Race from John Wright, Greg Luca, and Peter Baguley.

Noel Davis climbed through the field to run fourth at the end of Lap 5 and took the chequered flag in the same position, but was ultimately classified fifth due to a time penalty.

Production Touring

Mark Caine won both of the day’s Production Touring races.

A2 class (extreme performance naturally aspirated) cars continued to dominate proceedings, with Race 1 winner Symonds finishing both Races 2 and 3 in second.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]