Penalties change AGT grid at Hampton Downs

Alvaro Parente

Alvaro Parente and Dominic Storey have been handed penalties following yesterday’s Top 10 Shootout for the Hampton Downs 500.

The pair had qualified second and third respectively for Round 3 of the Australian Endurance Championship, but have been relegated to the rear of the top ten after having their Shootout lap times deleted.

Parente’s lap was deleted after officials deemed he’d exceeded track limits by crossing the blend line at pit entry on his flying lap, which was fast enough to put the YNA Autosport/McElrea Racing entry second.

Storey had his time deleted when it was judged the Eggleston Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3 arrived at pit exit too late for its Shootout lap.

Sharing the car with Peter Hackett, Storey banked the third fastest time and became the first driver to better Brad Shiels’ lap at the start of the session.

Stan Sport is the only way to watch every round of Speedseries. Click here for all the action streaming ad-free, live and on demand.

The penalties drop the pair to the back end of the top ten, promoting Shiels and Andrew Macpherson in the AMAC Motorsport Porsche 991 GT3-R to second place.

Meanwhile, the Jamec Pem Audi of Tim Miles and Jaxon Evans, which was forced to sit out the Shootout following a crash in Qualifying 2, has been repaired and will start today’s race.

The Hampton Downs 500 is scheduled to commence at 10:30 AEDT with a livestream available on

Result: Hampton Downs 500 Qualifying

P Driver Team Time
1 Liam Talbot/John Martin Mega Racing 1:43.409
2 Andrew Macpherson/Brad Shiels AMAC Motorsport 1:45.218
3 Neil Foster/Jonny Reid Giltrap 1:45.279
4 Max Twigg/Tony D’Alberto WM Waste Management 1:46.504
5 Dylan O’Keeffe/Steve Richards BMW Team SRM 1:46.772
6 Matt Whittaker/John Udy 100% Electrical/Whittaker’s 1:47.478
7 Adrian Deitz/Cam McConville Timken Zagame Autosport 1:48.327
8 Alvaro Parente/Fraser Ross YNA Autosport/McElrea Racing
9 Dominic Storey/Peter Hackett Autex Eggleston Motorsport
10 Tim Miles/Jaxon Evans Valvoline Jamec Pem Racing
11 Andrew Waite/Tony Quinn Darrell Lea 1:50.126
12 Matt Halliday/Andrew Bagnell Bolt Master 1:50.695
13 Scott Hookey/Mark Griffith Hog’s Breath Café/Griffith Corporation 1:52.861

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]