Field set for Hampton Downs 500

The 2016 Hampton Downs Australian Endurance Championship race

A 15-car field will tackle this weekend’s Laser Plumbing & Electrical Hampton Downs 500.

Jaxon Evans and Tim Miles, who have won both of the Australian Endurance Championship rounds so far this year, will team up in a one-car effort for Jamec Pem Racing in the #75 Audi R8 LMS.

Defending race winners Roger Lago and David Russell are also back in the JBS Lamborghini R-EX, as are John Martin and Liam Talbot, who are currently second in the championship, in the Porsche 911 GT3-R out of Walkinshaw Racing.

As previously reported, 2016 Bathurst 12 Hour winner Alvaro Parente will make his Australian GT debut with Fraser Ross in a McElrea Racing-prepared McLaren 650S GT3.

Australia’s recent Porsche Supercup Shootout representative Dylan O’Keeffe joins Steven Richards in the latter’s BMW M6 GT3 for both Hampton Downs and the final round of the championship at Highlands Motorsport Park.

Tony Quinn pairs up with Highlands driver trainer and 2017 FRD LMP3 Series race winner Andrew Waite in a McLaren 650S GT3, while Mark Griffith shares the wheel of his Mercedes-AMG GT3 with Scott Hookey.

Tony D’Alberto will again drive with Max Twigg in a similar Mercedes, while Cameron McConville partners Adrian Deitz in a Zagame Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan.

Local team International Motorsport has entered three cars with a line-up which includes two drivers with both Supercars and A1GP experience, namely Matt Halliday and Jonny Reid.

Trass Family Motorsport is back on the grid with Andrew Fawcett and Gene Rollinson piloting its Ferrari 458.

The partnerships of Peter Hackett/Dominic Storey (Mercedes-AMG GT3), who are third in the championship, and Andrew MacPherson/Brad Shiels (Porsche 911 GT3-R) also continue.

There will also be a 15-car field for the debut of the new Fast & Furious Racing, a concept created by Quinn and described as a motorsport equivalent of Twenty20 cricket.

The Hampton Downs 500 takes place on October 28-29. will carry the live stream of Sunday’s race, which starts at 1240 local time (1440 AEDT).

Entry list: Round 3, Hampton Downs 500

# Team Car Drivers
6 Zagame Autosport/Timken Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Adrian Deitz/Cameron McConville
7 Darrell Lea McLaren 650S GT3 Tony Quinn/Andrew Waite
8 Scott Taylor Motorsport/WM Waste Mercedes Benz AMG GT-S GT3 Max Twigg/Tony D’Alberto
19 Hogs Breath Café/Griffith Corporation Mercedes Benz AMG GT-S GT3 Mark Griffith/Scott Hookey
22 International Motorsport Audi R8 Ultra Neil Foster/Jonny Reid
23 Lago Racing/JBS Australia Lamborghini R-EX Roger Lago/David Russell
27 Trass Family Motorsport Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 Andrew Fawcett/Gene Rollinson
36 International Motorsport Audi R8 Ultra Jon Udy/Matt Whittaker
51 AMAC Motorsport/IMAK-Kwikmit Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Andrew Macpherson/Brad Shiels
58 McElrea Racing/YNA Autosport McLaren 650S GT3 Fraser Ross/Alvaro Parente
63 Eggleston Motorsport Mercedes Benz AMG GT-S GT3 Peter Hackett/Dominic Storey
75 Valvoline MPC Audi R8 LMS Tim Miles/Jaxon Evans
82 International Motorsport Audi R8 GT3 Andrew Bagnall/Matt Halliday
100 Steven Richards Motorsport M6 GT3 Steve Richards/Dylan O’Keefe
911 MEGA Racing Porsche 911 GT3-R Liam Talbot/John Martin

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]