SVG tops qualifying, Shell Fords miss shootout 

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen claimed provisional pole for Race 22 in an incident-filled qualifying session that saw both Shell V-Power Racing Fords fail to make today’s Top 10 Shootout.

The Red Bull Holden Racing team driver was in control for much of the session, held in dry conditions, having moved to the top of the times early in the running.

Van Gisbergen’s 1:10.37s effort arrived on just his third lap in the 20 minute session which proved to be the benchmark at the chequered flag.

Erebus Motorsport’s David Reynolds was second marginally ahead of Saturday race winner Chaz Mostert in the Supercheap Auto Prodrive Ford.

However, the big talking point was the lack of pace from the Shell Fords of Scott McLaughlin and Fabian Coulthard.

The pair used several sets of green tyres in the session but were unable to trouble the all important top 10.

McLaughlin, who appeared to be struggling with the brakes on his Falcon, improved late on to secure 13th, while championship leader Coulthard was mired down in 22nd spot.

“We just didn’t quite have it right there, I don’t know what happened, we will look into it,” said McLaughlin, who is third in the standings.

“It is unfortunate for everyone at Shell V-Power Racing. We have to have a swing at things, we wanted to try and be a fast car and just went the wrong one.

“We will focus on the long race, see how we go.

“There is a lot of things (not right with the car), there is also my driving I have to work on, I am struggling under brakes and that is where I have been comfortable all year.

“We will work on it as a squad, we will be fine, the boys will get around us and good pit stops will get us back up there today.”

Prodrive’s Cameron Waters claimed fourth despite a wild slide at Turn 3 early in the hit out.

Mark Winterbottom was fifth ahead of Jamie Whincup, while the top 10 was completed by Michael Caruso (Nissan Motorsport), Craig Lowndes (Triple Eight), James Courtney (Mobil 1 HSV Racing) and Lee Holdsworth (Preston Hire Racing).

Snoke pouring from Tim Slade’s Brad Jones Racing Commodore

Courtney was lucky to avoid damage when he found the Turn 11 wall late in the dying moments.

He was not the only driver to encounter drama as Dale Wood clouted the Turn 11 wall, damaging the front right of his Erebus Motorsport Holden.

However, it was not as spectacular as Tim Slade’s end to the session that featured a huge engine failure.

Smoke poured from his Freightliner Racing Commodore, with flames emerging from the front of the car as he returned to the pits.

“(It’s) a bit of a weird one, I just grazed the Turn 2 wall on that last lap and then started smelling smoke in between Turn 11 and 12 and then looked out the back and it was pouring out with smoke,” said Slade.

The Armor All Top 10 Shootout  is scheduled for 1140 before Race 22 at 1425.

Armor All Qualifying for Race 22: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Vodafone Castrol Gold Coast 600

1 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:10.3701
2 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:10.4707 0.1006
3 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.4783 0.1082
4 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.5084 0.1383
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:10.5826 0.2125
6 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:10.7245 0.3544
7 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:10.7986 0.4285
8 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:10.9129 0.5428
9 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:10.9260 0.5559
10 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:10.9451 0.5750
11 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:11.0627 0.6926
12 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:11.1643 0.7942
13 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.1818 0.8117
14 Boost Mobile Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:11.1837 0.8136
15 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:11.2066 0.8365
16 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.2511 0.8810
17 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:11.2731 0.9030
18 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Holden Commodore VF 1:11.2963 0.9262
19 TEKNO Woodstock Racing Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:11.4149 1.0448
20 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:11.4273 1.0572
21 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:11.4303 1.0602
22 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.5090 1.1389
23 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 1:11.5450 1.1749
24 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:11.8879 1.5178
25 Repair Management Aust Racing Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 1:12.5174 2.1473
26 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:12.7029 2.3328

Top 10 provisional; Shootout later this morning

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]