SVG flies to Race 22 pole in Triple Eight lock-out 

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen claimed the Armor All Pole Position for Race 22 as Triple Eight starred in the Top 10 Shootout at the Vodafone Gold Coast 600.

The New Zealander, who has three Gold Coast victories to his name, fired in a 1:10.83s with the final lap of the shootout to take the top spot from Red Bull team-mate Jamie Whincup.

“Three cars, one-two-three how awesome is that?” said van Gisbergen.

“We are in a pretty lucky position to have such good cars this weekend.


“Thanks to the team, we have been working pretty hard to be turning our pace around, I’m just so happy for all three of us to be up there.”

Whincup had held provisional pole for much of the shootout but he was denied pole by 0.06s by the reigning Supercars champion.

It proved to be an impressive showing from Triple Eight as they took the top three spots with Craig Lowndes popping up in third, two tenths adrift of the pace.

Mobil 1 HSV Racing’s James Courtney took a credible fourth in the #22 Commodore he will share with Jack Perkins.

The pair took out the Sunday race at Surfers Paradise in 2015.

Chaz Mostert was the top Prodrive runner in fifth after struggling for front running pace in the final two sectors.

Erebus Motorsport’s David Reynolds split the three Prodrive Fords in the shootout as the Bathurst 1000 winner claimed sixth.

Cameron Waters was left to rue a brush with the wall at the beachside chicane which left him in seventh.

The moment arrive seconds after Mark Winterbottom did the same, albeit he grazed the wall harder than Waters.

The 2015 series champion, who suffered an engine misfire on the lap, will start this afternoon’s race in eighth

“I had a bit of a engine misfire going into the chicane and it completely destroyed my flow,” said Winterbottom.

“I didn’t do a great job, I tried too hard and made a bit of an error.”

Nissan Motorsport’s Michael Caruso will start from ninth on the grid after his lap time was rescinded due to a kerb strike at the Turn 10 chicane.

The infringement came after a big lock up on the entry to the first complex.

He was not the only driver to trigger the kerb sensors as Lee Holdsworth picked up a kerb hop at the first chicane, dropping him to 10th position.

Race 22 is scheduled to start at 1425 local time.

Armor All Top 10 Shootout for Race 22: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Vodafone Castrol Gold Coast 600

1 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:10.8384
2 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:10.9044 0.0660
3 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:11.0954 0.2570
4 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:11.2026 0.3642
5 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.2054 0.3670
6 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:11.3416 0.5032
7 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.5039 0.6655
8 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:11.9327 1.0943
9 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima
10 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]