SUPPORTS: Harris closes in on V8 Utes title

Ryal Harris

ECB V8 Ute Racing Series

Ryal Harris is in the box seat to win the final ever V8 Ute Racing Series title with victory in Race 3 at Surfers as Kim Jane was turned around.

Under sunny skies, Jane won the start from second on the grid to lead Mason Barbera and Harris.

Gus Robbins pic: Fox Sports

However, the #27 Commodore lacked the pace to keep them at bay and Harris made his way past Barbera and then Jane in consecutive laps to lead at the end of Lap 4.

The series complexion really changed when Barbera turned Jane around on Lap 5, relegating the veteran to 15th.

Jane had made his way to 11th by the time a race-ending Safety Car was called for a multi-car collision at the top end of the circuit on Lap 7.

Gus Robbins tangled with Marcus Zukanovic and ended up in the tyre wall at Turn 12, at which time he was swiped across the nose by Maxim Erickson, who was having his own incident.

Robbins then got snagged on the Turn 13 exit tyre belt as he attempted to press on and was collected by Matt Nolan.

Harris won the race and round and is now the favourite to win the series for the fourth time when the V8 Utes era comes to a close at the Coates Hire Newcastle 500 on November 24-26.

Jaie Robson pic: Digital Realism

Aussie Racing Cars

Jaie Robson has won Race 4 of Aussie Racing Cars after an elbows-out duel with Kel Treseder.

James Duckworth took the lead from second position on the grid but lost it on Lap 4 with a failure in the right-rear corner of car #1.

Treseder inherited the spot but soon came under attack.

Robson got past into the first chicane on Lap 6 but slid through the corner and allowed Treseder to lunge back down the inside at the Hairpin, the pair banging together in the process.

The Sydneysider made a clean move at the end of the beach a lap later, but Treseder stuck with him for the remaining 11 laps of the race.

Robson held on to take victory by less than 0.15s, with second position good enough for the round win for Treseder.

Blake Sciberras took third after briefly running with the top two, while Duckworth continued to circulate in his wounded car to finish 18th.

Scibberas has taken over the series lead from Duckworth ahead of the final round in Newcastle.

Liam Lawson

CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship

Liam Lawson has headed new champion Nick Rowe home in the final Formula 4 race of the year.

Rowe and Simon Fallon touched wheels into the front chicane at the start of the race, with the former taking the lead.

Lawson passed Fallon at the same part of the track a lap later, before a Safety Car was called when Jordan Mazzaroli came through shortly after and found the wall.

There was contact at the restart, when Ryan Suhle got into the rear of Luis Leeds as he squeezed inside of Cameron Shields at the Hairpin.

Lawson got a better run through the Beach Chicane to set up the race-winning move past Rowe at Turn 11 on Lap 9.

Fallon finished third, one position ahead of Leeds, and a wounded Suhle persevered on his way to ninth.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]