Oliveira hands KTM maiden Moto2 victory

Miguel Oliveira pic: MotoGP

KTM has claimed its first Moto2 race win after Miguel Oliveira and Brad Binder handed the team a 1-2 finish in the Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island.

Oliveira controlled the race after pulling an early gap over the chasing pack, going on to check out at the front to win despite late rain and a charging Takaaki Nakagami threatening his advantage.

From the outside of the front row, Oliveira and team-mate Binder moved to the head of the race to make for an early KTM 1-2.

Their cause was helped on Lap 2 as Marcel Schrotter and Mattia Pasini crashed out at the Southern Loop, allowing the first three to skip clear.

Along with the two KTMs, championship leader Morbidelli was also clear, while title contender Tomas Luthi struggled for pace and fell from fourth in the opening laps to seventh by mid-distance.

Going the other way was Takaaki Nakagami, who settled into a strong pace after a slow start to climb his way to fourth.

He then latched onto Morbidelli, who had dropped back after a moment at the start of Lap 15 saw the Italian lucky to stay upright having brushed his front wheel against Binder’s rear as they tipped into Turn 1.

Binder too began struggling for pace, a train of bikes forming behind the second-placed KTM, who eventually ceded the spot to Morbidelli at Turn 1 with seven laps remaining.

He immediately dropped another to Nakagami as Xavier Vierge and Jesko Raffin queued up for their chance to pass the former second place sitter.

A lap later and Nakagami was third, demoting Morbidelli in the same fashion as Binder had lost second place a lap earlier.

Further back, Luthi was engaged in a six-way battle for seventh spot, eventually settling for tenth place at the flag as his hopes of the championship slipped ever further away.

Rain in the closing laps saw Nakagami close on the race leader, who’d thrown an arm in the attempt to have race control red flag proceedings.

Nakagami’s pace was too hot for the conditions, crashing out at Lukey Heights with two laps remaining, promoting the squabbling Binder and Morbidelli.

As the rain intensified in the final lap, Morbidelli opted to preserve his championship advantage and dropped off the back of Binder, who trailed Oliveira across the line as KTM claimed its first Moto2 win.

The Moto2 championship heads to Sepang next weekend for the penultimate round of the 2017 championship.

Result: Australian Moto2 Grand Prix

Position Rider Team Bike Time/Gap
1 Miguel OLIVEIRA Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 39m25.920s
2 Brad BINDER Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 2.974s
3 Franco MORBIDELLI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex 3.846s
4 Jesko RAFFIN Garage Plus Interwetten Kalex 7.348s
5 Xavi VIERGE Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 7.403s
6 Alex MARQUEZ EG 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex 12.125s
7 Simone CORSI Speed Up Racing Speed Up 12.217s
8 Dominique AEGERTER Kiefer Racing Suter 12.244s
9 Sandro CORTESE Dynavolt Intact GP Suter 12.475s
10 Thomas LUTHI CarXpert Interwetten Kalex 12.605s
11 Axel PONS RW Racing GP Kalex 12.971s
12 Francesco BAGNAIA SKY Racing Team VR46 Kalex 20.887s
13 Stefano MANZI SKY Racing Team VR46 Kalex 28.821s
14 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Forward Racing Team Kalex 31.214s
15 Remy GARDNER Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 34.678s
16 Hafizh SYAHRIN Petronas Raceline Malaysia Kalex 34.911s
17 Augusto FERNANDEZ Speed Up Racing Speed Up 35.694s
18 Tetsuta NAGASHIMA Teluru SAG Team Kalex 56.487s
19 Isaac VIÑALES BE-A-VIP SAG Team Kalex 56.528s
20 Iker LECUONA Garage Plus Interwetten Kalex 56.550s
21 Khairul Idham PAWI IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 57.548s
22 Tarran MACKENZIE Kiefer Racing Suter 1m01.191s
23 Luca MARINI Forward Racing Team Kalex 1m39.824s
Takaaki NAKAGAMI IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 2 Laps
Edgar PONS Pons HP40 Kalex 2 Laps
Fabio QUARTARARO Pons HP40 Kalex 20 Laps
Andrea LOCATELLI Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 23 Laps
Jorge NAVARRO Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Kalex 23 Laps
Marcel SCHROTTER Dynavolt Intact GP Suter 24 Laps
Mattia PASINI Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 24 Laps

Points Standings: Moto2 World Championship

Position Rider Bike Points
1 Franco MORBIDELLI Kalex 272
2 Thomas LUTHI Kalex 243
3 Miguel OLIVEIRA KTM 191
4 Alex MARQUEZ Kalex 190
5 Francesco BAGNAIA Kalex 150
6 Mattia PASINI Kalex 135
7 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex 128
8 Simone CORSI Speed Up 105
9 Xavi VIERGE Tech 3 90
10 Brad BINDER KTM 89
11 Hafizh SYAHRIN Kalex 86
12 Dominique AEGERTER Suter 82
13 Jorge NAVARRO Kalex 60
14 Luca MARINI Kalex 59
15 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Kalex 50
16 Fabio QUARTARARO Kalex 47
17 Marcel SCHROTTER Suter 47
18 Sandro CORTESE Suter 43
19 Jesko RAFFIN Kalex 25
20 Remy GARDNER Tech 3 23
21 Axel PONS Kalex 22
22 Xavier SIMEON Kalex 16
23 Yonny HERNANDEZ Kalex 16
24 Stefano MANZI Kalex 14
25 Khairul Idham PAWI Kalex 10
26 Tetsuta NAGASHIMA Kalex 8
27 Isaac VIÑALES Kalex 7
28 Ricard CARDUS KTM 7
29 Joe ROBERTS Kalex 6
30 Alex DE ANGELIS Suter 5
31 Andrea LOCATELLI Kalex 5
32 Danny KENT Suter 3
33 Edgar PONS Kalex 2
34 Ikuhiro ENOKIDO Kalex 2
35 Tarran MACKENZIE Suter 1
36 Federico FULIGNI Kalex 1

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]