Mostert/Owen win Pirtek Enduro Cup

Chaz Mostert and Steve Owen celebrate on the podium

Chaz Mostert and Steve Owen have won the 2017 Pirtek Enduro Cup off the back of a seventh position finish in Race 22 this afternoon.

The Prodrive Racing Australia pair set up the triumph with a comeback win in Race 21 a day earlier at the Vodafone Gold Coast 600 a day and in the process became the first Ford winners of the cup.

Mostert/Owen finished 48 points clear of Fabian Coulthard and Tony D’Alberto, who had held top spot leaving the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

The #12 DJR Team Penske Falcon actually moved up a position to finish runners-up despite coming home only ninth in the final race of the Pirtek Enduro Cup.


That was because Sandown 500 winners Cameron Waters and Richie Stanaway ended the race two laps off the pace in 21st, the latter having incurred steering damage when he hit Craig Lowndes while trying to pass for third on Lap 34.

Waters/Stanaway placed third in the Pirtek Enduro Cup, making for a Prodrive one-three.

“When you get to go home on Sunday night at the end of Gold Coast and have that cup, you obviously know you’ve had a pretty consistent Enduro Cup campaign as a team, so it’s awesome to get that,” Mostert told

“We came close in 2014 with it when we won at Bathurst, come up second in then, but it’s awesome to have a cup this year already before the end of the year.”

Owen, who has been with Prodrive as an enduro co-driver since 2013, said that the trophy was a special reward for the hired guns of the three endurance events.

“For us it’s like the enduro drivers’ world championship, so it’s good,” he laughed.

“It’s a long campaign even for three races because they’re three long races.

“It’s sometimes a bit of a tortoise and hare type of approach and I’m definitely the tortoise but I keep bringing it back.

“It’s good to have won the cup.”

The day itself was a somewhat frustrating one for the duo, however, as they were unable to carry through their race-winning form from the day before.

Owen finished his stint in seventh position, having run sixth until being passed by team-mate Dean Canto on Lap 21.

Mostert emerged in eighth once the first round of pit stops fully played out and only regained the one position, during the final set of stops.

A need to save fuel, brought about by difficulties fully filling the car, saw him continue to circulate in seventh until the end of the race.

“I think we were just a bit too far back by the time we pitted,” explained Mostert.

“After the first ones (pit stops), we fell back down the order.

“There were snippets of great pace out there at times during stints, (but) it wasn’t across the whole stint.

“Towards the end we had another issue going on with some pit stop stuff, so just didn’t quite have the pace towards the end.”

Meanwhile, for the fourth time in the five-year history of the Pirtek Enduro Cup, there were four different race winning cars.

Pirtek Enduro Cup: 2017 results

1 55 Chaz Mostert/Steve Owen 660
2 12 Fabian Coulthard/Tony D’Alberto 612
3 6 Cameron Waters/Richie Stanaway 594
4 97 Shane van Gisbergen/Matthew Campbell 591
5 88 Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell 534
6 888 Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards 504
7 02 Scott Pye/Warren Luff 498
8 17 Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat 495
9 23 Michael Caruso/Dean Fiore 465
10 9 David Reynolds/Luke Youlden 462
11 99 Dale Wood/Chris Pither 462
12 33 Garth Tander/James Golding 462
13 56 Jason Bright/Garry Jacobson 417
14 22 James Courtney/Jack Perkins 417
15 15 Rick Kelly/David Wall 408
16 7 Todd Kelly/Jack Le Brocq 375
17 19 Will Davison/Jonathon Webb 372
18 5 Mark Winterbottom/Dean Canto 369
19 14 Tim Slade/Andre Heimgartner 333
20 34 James Moffat/Richard Muscat 291
21 18 Lee Holdsworth/Karl Reindler 270
22 21 Tim Blanchard/Todd Hazelwood 243
23 78 Simona De Silvestro/David Russell 198
24 8 Nick Percat/Macauley Jones 198
25 62 Alex Rullo/Alex Davison 156
26 3 Aaren Russell/Taz Douglas 108
27 75 Tim Slade/Ash Walsh 0

Pirtek Enduro Cup: 2017 race winners

Sandown 500 Cameron Waters/Richie Stanaway Prodrive Racing Australia
Bathurst 1000 David Reynolds/Luke Youlden Erebus Motorsport
Gold Coast Saturday Chaz Mostert/Steve Owen Prodrive Racing Australia
Gold Coast Sunday Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat DJR Team Penske

Previous Pirtek Enduro Cup winners

2013 Craig Lowndes/Warren Luff Triple Eight Race Engineering
2014 Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell Triple Eight Race Engineering
2015 Garth Tander/Warren Luff Walkinshaw Racing
2016 Shane van Gisbergen/Alexandre Premat Triple Eight Race Engineering

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]