Pasini on Moto2 pole at Phillip Island

Mattia Pasini pic: MotoGP

Kalex rider Mattia Pasini has taken pole for tomorrow’s Moto2 Grand Prix at Phillip Island.

Pasini set his best of 1:33.300s midway through the session, having earlier posted a 1:33.865s to move to the top of the standings, beating Marcel Schrotter by just 0.008s

Schrotter had bumped Pasini from pole by half a second earlier in proceedings, improving on his twelfth lap of the session only to narrowly miss out on pole position.

Franco Morbidelli ended the day fifth, less than two tenths off Pasini’s time, having posted the fastest time as the session got underway.

Ahead of him will start the KTM duo of Miguel Oliveria and Brad Binder.

Remy Garnder recovered from a fall this morning to set the 16th fastest time on the Tech 3, posting an identical 1:34.500 to Simone Corsi, the Italian claiming 15th courtesy of setting the time earlier in the session.

A heavy crash from Xavier Simeon saw the Belgian fail to post a time, high-siding off the Kalex at Turn 11 early in the 35-minute session.

The Australian Moto2 Grand Prix is scheduled for 25 laps, starting at 14:20 tomorrow.

Result: Australian Moto2 Grand Prix Qualifying

Position Rider Team Bike Time
1 Mattia PASINI Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 1m33.300s
2 Marcel SCHROTTER Dynavolt Intact GP Suter 1m33.308s
3 Miguel OLIVEIRA Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 1m33.422s
4 Brad BINDER Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 1m33.453s
5 Franco MORBIDELLI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex 1m33.495s
6 Alex MARQUEZ EG 0,0 Marc VDS Kalex 1m33.749s
7 Takaaki NAKAGAMI IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 1m33.921s
8 Dominique AEGERTER Kiefer Racing Suter 1m33.944s
9 Jesko RAFFIN Garage Plus Interwetten Kalex 1m33.982s
10 Thomas LUTHI CarXpert Interwetten Kalex 1m34.098s
11 Andrea LOCATELLI Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 1m34.163s
12 Xavi VIERGE Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 1m34.213s
13 Sandro CORTESE Dynavolt Intact GP Suter 1m34.218s
14 Axel PONS RW Racing GP Kalex 1m34.283s
15 Simone CORSI Speed Up Racing Speed Up 1m34.500s
16 Remy GARDNER Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 1m34.500s
17 Francesco BAGNAIA SKY Racing Team VR46 Kalex 1m34.570s
18 Jorge NAVARRO Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Kalex 1m34.699s
19 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Forward Racing Team Kalex 1m34.730s
20 Fabio QUARTARARO Pons HP40 Kalex 1m34.969s
21 Stefano MANZI SKY Racing Team VR46 Kalex 1m35.005s
22 Edgar PONS Pons HP40 Kalex 1m35.011s
23 Hafizh SYAHRIN Petronas Raceline Malaysia Kalex 1m35.068s
24 Augusto FERNANDEZ Speed Up Racing Speed Up 1m35.076s
25 Isaac VIムALES BE-A-VIP SAG Team Kalex 1m35.120s
26 Iker LECUONA Garage Plus Interwetten Kalex 1m35.352s
27 Tetsuta NAGASHIMA Teluru SAG Team Kalex 1m35.579s
28 Khairul Idham PAWI IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 1m35.918s
29 Tarran MACKENZIE Kiefer Racing Suter 1m35.943s
30 Luca MARINI Forward Racing Team Kalex 1m36.219s
Xavier SIMEON Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2 Kalex

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]