Marquez claims pole for Australian MotoGP

Marc Marquez pic: MotoGP

Marc Marquez has claimed his 44th career MotoGP pole position ahead of tomorrow’s Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island.

The Honda rider set the pace early in the session before logging a 1:28.386s lap in the dying stages confirming himself at the front of the grid.

Marquez, Andrea Iannone and Jack Miller ran nose-to-tail in the opening minutes to initially take the top three places, only for Johann Zarco to go quickest with a 1:28.744s as the session began to draw to a close.

Tough falling down the order, Miller equalled his career-best qualifying result and will start from the middle of the second row, between Iannone and Pol Esparago on the KTM.

Championship contender Andrea Dovizisio qualified just eleventh after failing to improve on his final lap, the Ducati driver quick in the first sector before dropping time in the middle part of the lap.

Having escaped from Q1, Valentino Rossi posted the seventh fastest time to start from the third row.

Bradley Smith also found his way into Qualifying 2 to make it two KTMs in the final part of qualifying, ending the session ninth.

Danilo Petrucci crashed out in the first part of the session while Cal Crutchlow crashed out in the final moments of Qualifying 2 on his way to tenth place.

Australian Broc Parkes was eleventh fastest in the first part of qualifying while Jorge Lorenzo, who fell heavily earlier in the day, could only manage sixth best in Q1 to start 16th for tomorrow’s race.

A 20-minute warmup at 11:40 AEDT Sunday morning is the last time riders will be on track before tomorrow afternoon’s 27-lap Australian MotoGP at 16:00.

Result: Australian MotoGP Qualifying

Position Rider Team Bike Time
1 Marc MARQUEZ Repsol Honda Team Honda 1m28.386s
2 Maverick VI√ĎALES Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1m28.719s
3 Johann ZARCO Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1m28.744s
4 Andrea IANNONE Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1m28.937s
5 Jack MILLER EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1m28.964s
6 Pol ESPARGARO Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1m29.030s
7 Valentino ROSSI Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1m29.203s
8 Aleix ESPARGARO Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1m29.271s
9 Bradley SMITH Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1m29.321s
10 Cal CRUTCHLOW LCR Honda Honda 1m29.429s
11 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati Team Ducati 1m29.496s
12 Dani PEDROSA Repsol Honda Team Honda 1m29.546s
13 Alex RINS Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1m29.824s
14 Tito RABAT EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1m29.847s
15 Karel ABRAHAM Pull&Bear Aspar Team Ducati 1m29.961s
16 Jorge LORENZO Ducati Team Ducati 1m30.085s
17 Loris BAZ Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1m30.224s
18 Danilo PETRUCCI OCTO Pramac Racing Ducati 1m30.471s
19 Hector BARBERA Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1m30.543s
20 Scott REDDING OCTO Pramac Racing Ducati 1m30.806s
21 Broc PARKES Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1m30.889s
22 Alvaro BAUTISTA Pull&Bear Aspar Team Ducati 1m30.900s
23 Sam LOWES Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1m31.158s

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]