Healthy grid for Formula 3 season finale

Calan Williams

The 2017 Australian Formula 3 Premier Series will come to a close this weekend at Wakefield Park with a large field of competitors.

A total of 18 cars are set to take to the grid for the Certica City of Goulburn Cup, at which Calan Williams will race as the newly crowned Premier Class title winner.

The Gilmour Racing driver clinched the title after nearest rival John Magro missed Rounds 4 and 5 due to the birth of his daughter.

“The final round of the series will double as the Certica City of Goulburn Cup and my sights are on pole position, race wins, and if conditions are right having a crack at a lap record for the team.” said Williams.

The F3 rookie will also be celebrating the news that he will race in the EuroFormula Open Championship in 2018.

Meanwhile, John Magro will mark his return with a switch of team, moving from Alpine Motorsports to R-Tek Motorsport and driving the latter’s current model F308.

“I’m really looking forward to driving R-Tek’s latest model F308,” said Magro.

“I haven’t driven the latest spec Australian F3 car so it’ll be a new challenge getting the most out of the extra downforce.”

Fellow R-Tek driver Roman Krumins will also arrive at Wakefield Park as a class series winner, having clinched National Class last time out at Queensland Raceway.

Rielly Brook will switch cars this weekend, stepping out of Formula Renault 2.0 which he has driven at selected rounds of this year’s AF3PS to race an F3 car for the first time, a Gilmour Racing Dallara F307.

Formula Ford driver Harri Jones will make his F3 debut this weekend in preparation for his MRF Challenge campaign over summer.

The 18-year-old, who finished eighth in this year’s AFFS, has secured a deal to race in the Indian and Middle Eastern series, which uses a Dallara Formula 3 chassis powered by a 2.0 Litre Duratec engine.

Josh Behn, who finished runner-up in the NSW Formula Ford 1600 Championship, will also step up to F3 at Wakefield Park.

Action commences on Friday with practice, before qualifying and Race 1 on Saturday and two more races on Sunday.

Entry list: Round 6: Wakefield Park Raceway

Num Driver Category Make Model
3 Rielly Brook Formula Cars Dallara F307
6 Philip Morrow Formula Cars Reynard 923
7 Nathan Kumar Formula Cars Dallara F307
8 John Magro Formula Cars Dallara F308
9 Andrew Wlodek Formula Cars Dallara F307
12 Harrison Jones Formula Cars Dallara F308/11
16 Roman Krumins Formula Cars Dallara F307
17 Calan Williams Formula Cars Dallara F308
19 Andrew Roberts Formula Cars Dallara F304
21 Graeme Holmes Formula Cars Dallara F3
27 Shane Wilson Formula Cars Dallara F305
38 Rod Anderson Formula Cars Reynard 893
41 Greg Muddle Formula Cars Dallara F399
46 Josh Behn Formula Cars Mygale M11-F3
48 Ron Coath Formula Cars Dallara F3
51 Ron Bennet Formula Cars Dallara F399
55 Glenn Lynch Formula Cars Dallara 397
66 Bruce McKenzie Formula Cars Dallara F304

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]