Meeke wins in Spain

Kris Meeke was untouchable in Spain

Kris Meeke has completed a fast final day to win the Rally Catalunya and put to bed a run of outs for Citroen.

As much as the focus was on Meeke’s win, a second place for Sebastien Ogier closer to the 2017 WRC title.

The only stage Meeke didn’t win on the final day was the Power Stage, which went to Dani Sordo.

His final margin was 28sec.

“It’s not how many times you get knocked down, it’s how you get back up again,” said Meeke.

“And I’ve had to get up a few times in my career.”

Ogier slightly increased his small advantage over M-Sport teammate Ott Tanak to five seconds to secure second place, and extended the championship lead to 37 points.

Tanak is now one point ahead of Hyundai’s Neuville, who retired from the event on Sunday morning after re-starting after failing to finish the second leg.

Toyota’s Juho Hanninen was fourth followed by Mads Ostberg (Ford) and Citroen’s Stephane Lefebvre.

Elfyn Evans finished in seventh followed by WRC2 winner Teemu Suninen and the Skodas of Jan Kopecky and Ole Christian Veiby.

VIDEO: Morning Stages

VIDEO: Power Stage


FINAL POSITIONS: Rally Catalunya – Rally de España

1 Kris Meeke Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT Citroen 3:01:21.1
2 Sebastien Ogier M-Sport World Rally Team Ford +0:28.0
3 Ott Tanak M-Sport World Rally Team Ford +0:33.0
4 Juho Hanninen Toyota Gazoo Racing WRC Toyota +0:54.1
5 Mads Ostberg M-Sport World Rally Team Ford +2:26.2
6 Stephane Lefebvre Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT Citroen +2:43.0
7 Elfyn Evans M-Sport World Rally Team Ford +4:37.4
8 Teemu Suninen M-Sport World Rally Team Ford +8:22.7
9 Jan Kopecky Skoda Motorsport II Skoda +8:54.5
10 Ole-Christian Veiby Printsport Skoda +9:04.8


Drivers’ Championship

Pos Driver Points
1 Sebastien Ogier 198
2 Ott Tanak 161
3 Thierry Neuville 160
4 Jari-Matti Latvala 123
5 Dani Sordo 94
6 Elfyn Evans 93
7 Juha Hänninen 71
8 Craig Breen 64
9 Kris Meeke 60
10 Hayden Paddon 55


Teams’ Championship

Pos Driver Points
1 M-Sport World Rally Team 358
2 Hyundai Motorsport 275
3 Toyota Gazoo Racing WRC 225
4 Citroen Total Abu Dhabi World Rally Team 198

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]