Holdsworth/Reindler top Bathurst warm-up

Preston Hire Racing set the pace in morning warm-up

Preston Hire Racing set the pace in the morning warm-up ahead of the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Lee Holdsworth posted a 2:06.33s as the pit lane completed their final preparations for today’s Great Race.

Officials declared the track wet, despite the session being held in overcast conditions, allowing teams to run on rain tyres in anticipation of showers later today.

A handful of teams including Shell V-Power Racing, Nissan Motorsport and Tekno Autosports scrubbed in sets of wet Dunlop rubber.

The majority of the field ran through final system checks while completing driver change rehearsals.

The Fabian Coulthard/Tony D’Alberto Shell Ford was second 0.02s shy of Holdsworth’s Preston Hire Commodore, while Mobil 1 HSV Racing’s Scott Pye/Warren Luff Holden was third.

Jamie Whincup bedded in a new engine in his Red Bull Holden after undergoing several changes overnight. The #88 Commodore ended the session fourth.

“We replaced a lot of things. We did an engine, we did a few different things,” said team manager Mark Dutton.

“We’re obviously looking for speed, we didn’t think there was anything wrong with the engine as such, but you can’t be sure with these things; we’ll double-check on the dyno when we get home.”

Nissan Motorsport’s Michael Caruso/Dean Fiore entry was fifth ahead of the David Reynolds/Luke Youlden Erebus Holden that will start from second on the grid.

Pole-sitters Scott McLaughlin and Alex Premat were 16th on the timesheets.

The session ran without incident.

Today’s Great Race is scheduled to start at 1110 local time.

Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Warm-up

1 Preston Hire Racing L.Holdsworth/K.Reindler Holden Commodore VF 2:06.3375
2 Shell V-Power Racing Team F.Coulthard/T.D’Albert Ford Falcon FG/X 2:06.3623 00.0248
3 Mobil 1 HSV Racing S.Pye/W.Luff Holden Commodore VF 2:06.3654 00.0279
4 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust J.Whincup/P.Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 2:06.3908 00.0533
5 Nissan Motorsport M.Caruso/D.Fiore Nissan Altima 2:06.4128 00.0753
6 Erebus Penrite Racing D.Reynolds/L.Youlden Holden Commodore VF 2:06.5014 00.1639
7 TEKNO Woodstock Racing W.Davison/J.Webb Holden Commodore VF 2:06.5192 00.1817
8 Wilson Security Racing GRM G.Tander/J.Golding Holden Commodore VF 2:06.5210 00.1835
9 Supercheap Auto Racing C.Mostert/S.Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 2:06.5227 00.1852
10 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust S.Van Gisbergen/M.Campbell Holden Commodore VF 2:06.5626 00.2251
11 Monster Energy Racing C.Waters/R.Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 2:06.7797 00.4422
12 The Bottle-O Racing Team M.Winterbottom/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 2:06.8418 00.5043
13 Freightliner Racing T.Slade/A.Heimgartner Holden Commodore VF 2:07.0159 00.6784
14 carsales Racing T.Kelly/J.Le Brocq Nissan Altima 2:07.1204 00.7829
15 Sengled Racing R.Kelly/D.Wall Nissan Altima 2:07.1575 00.8200
16 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 2:07.2938 00.9563
17 TeamVortex C.Lowndes/S.Richards Holden Commodore VF 2:07.4464 01.1089
18 Team CoolDrive T.Blanchard/T.Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 2:07.6035 01.2660
19 Wilson Security Racing GRM J.Moffat/R.Muscat Holden Commodore VF 2:07.6623 01.3248
20 MEGA Racing J.Bright/G.Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 2:07.7197 01.3822
21 Plus Fitness Racing A.Russell/T.Douglas Holden Commodore VF 2:07.9515 01.6140
22 Brad Jones Racing N.Percat/M.Jones Holden Commodore VF 2:08.1261 01.7886
23 Repair Management Aust Racing A.Rullo/A.Davison Holden Commodore VF 2:08.3169 01.9794
24 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing D.Wood/C.Pither Holden Commodore VF 2:08.4044 02.0669
25 Team Harvey Norman S.De Silvestro/D.Russell Nissan Altima 2:08.5630 02.2255
26 Mobil 1 HSV Racing J.Courtney/J.Perkins Holden Commodore VF 2:08.9753 02.6378

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]