Armor All renews Supercars sponsorship

Armor All renews Supercars pole sponsorship pic: Mark Horsbrough

The Armor All Pole Award will carry on into another season under a new deal which makes the car care brand the longest serving major sponsor of the Supercars Championship.

Armor All became the Official Car Care Product of Supercars in 2005, while the Armor All Pole Award was introduced the following year.

The extension will take Armor All to 14 straight years as a sponsor of the championship.

It has given away more than $1 million in prizemoney for pole sitters during that time, and will continue to hold naming rights for Armor All Qualifying and the respective pole awards for the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship and Dunlop Super2 Series.

Paul Blair, General Manager, Spectrum Brands, Global Auto Care Division, Asia Pacific hailed the announcement.

“Armor All stands for high quality and performance, just like the Supercars Championship,” said Blair.

“Armor All and Spectrum Brands have a long and proud history in motorsport across the globe and the Supercars Armor All Pole Award is one of the most instantly recognisable sponsorships.”

Supercars Managing Director Matt Braid also welcomed the renewal of the long-time sponsor.

“Armor All has been a wonderful partner of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship for 14 years, one of our longest and most valuable partnerships,” said Braid.

“The Armor All Pole Award is a valuable part of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship and something the teams and drivers really cherish and we are delighted to have the Armor All team on board for 2018.”

Scott McLaughlin has already secured the 2017 Armor All Pole Champion award after taking an unassailable lead in the pole position count at Sydney Motorsport Park.

The Shell V-Power Racing Team driver has qualified on pole 13 times this season after just 19 races so far, including a streak of seven in a row.

The 24-year-old was presented with a cheque for $10,000 for his achievement during Sandown 500.

A total of 28 drivers have taken an Armor All Pole Position during the existence of the award, with Prodrive Racing Australia co-driver Richie Stanaway the latest recipient when he and Cameron Waters paired up at Sandown.

Pole position for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 will be determined in today’s Armor All Top 10 Shootout from 1710 AEDT/local time.

Armor All Pole Champions

2017 Scott McLaughlin
2016 Shane van Gisbergen
2015 Chaz Mostert
2014 Jamie Whincup
2013 Jamie Whincup
2012 Will Davison
2011 Jamie Whincup
2010 Jamie Whincup
2009 Jamie Whincup
2008 Jamie Whincup
2007 Mark Winterbottom
2006 Mark Skaife

Supercars Championship Armor All Pole Award winners

Mark Skaife
Garth Tander
Jason Bright
Todd Kelly
James Courtney
Mark Winterbottom
Rick Kelly
Jamie Whincup
Steven Richards
Craig Lowndes
Steve Johnson
Jason Richards
Will Davison
Jason Bargwanna
Lee Holdsworth
Alex Davison
Paul Dumbrell
Greg Murphy
David Reynolds
Shane van Gisbergen
Tim Slade
Fabian Coulthard
Scott McLaughlin
Chaz Mostert
Scott Pye
Cameron Waters
Chris Pither
Richie Stanaway

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]