Reynolds blitzes Practice 3 as SVG crashes 

David Reynolds pic: Matthew Paul Photography

David Reynolds set a blistering pace to head the times while Shane van Gisbergen found the wall in Practice 3 for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

The Erebus Motorsport driver saved his best until the final minutes as he produced an impressive 2:05.09s effort to top an eventful 60 minute session at Mount Panorama.

“I gave a little bit away across the top and did a bad job somewhere, but that is what practice is about,” said Reynolds.

“My car has performed really well today, all the team has been fantastic, it is good to be ‘Thursday pole’.”


Reynolds’ time surpassed Supercars championship leader Scott McLaughlin, who had topped the majority of the session.

McLaughlin’s time turned heads in the paddock as the Shell V-Power Racing driver occupied a margin of more than a second over the field for large periods.

While Reynolds and  McLaughlin impressed, race contender van Gisbergen brought out the red flags at the halfway point when he suffered a crash at The Dipper.

The Red Bull Holden driver ran wide at the corner before hitting the concrete wall, which left the Commodore with damage to the left front and rear.

The session was halted again with 12 minutes remaining when Simona de Silvestro’s Nissan ground to halt at the Conrod Straight with an electrical problem.

Once the action resumed, a flurry of fast times arrived.

Shell V-Power Racing’s Fabian Coulthard ended up in third ahead of Garry Rogers Motorsport’s Garth Tander.

Red Bull Holden’s Jamie Whincup was among those to improve in the dying minutes as he slotted into fifth, while Brad Jones Racing secured sixth through Nick Percat in the #8 entry.

The top 10 was completed by Mark Winterbottom (Prodrive), Jason Bright (Prodrive), Scott Pye (Mobil 1 HSV Racing) and last year’s winner Will Davison (Tekno Autosports).

Triple Eight’s Craig Lowndes finished in 11th spot.

Results: Virgin Australian Supercars Championship Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 Practice 3

1 9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 2:05.0932
2 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.1276 0.0344
3 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.3279 0.2347
4 33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 2:05.4902 0.3970
5 88 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 2:05.6187 0.5255
6 8 Brad Jones Racing N.Percat/M.Jones Holden Commodore VF 2:05.7945 0.7013
7 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.8420 0.7488
8 56 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X 2:05.8841 0.7909
9 02 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 2:05.9818 0.8886
10 19 TEKNO Woodstock Racing W.Davison/J.Webb Holden Commodore VF 2:06.0245 0.9313
11 888 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 2:06.0549 0.9617
12 22 Mobil 1 HSV Racing J.Courtney/J.Perkins Holden Commodore VF 2:06.0654 0.9722
13 20 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 2:06.1414 1.0482
14 99 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 2:06.2260 1.1328
15 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 2:06.2355 1.1423
16 34 Wilson Security Racing GRM J.Moffat/R.Muscat Holden Commodore VF 2:06.2358 1.1426
17 23 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 2:06.3242 1.2310
18 18 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 2:06.3621 1.2689
19 15 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 2:06.4331 1.3399
20 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 2:06.4469 1.3537
21 55 Supercheap Auto Racing C.Mostert/S.Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 2:06.4972 1.4040
22 21 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 2:07.0877 1.9945
23 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 2:07.5211 2.4279
24 3 Plus Fitness Racing A.Russell/T.Douglas Holden Commodore VF 2:08.5739 3.4807
25 62 Repair Management Aust Racing Alex Davison Holden Commodore VF 2:09.4152 4.3220

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]