Shields sweeps Formula Ford at SMP

Cameron Shields pic: Bruce Moxon

Cameron Shields has won all three races in Round 5 of the Australian Formula Ford Series at Sydney Motorsport Park, closing the gap to series leader Max Vidau.

Hunter McElrea finished second in each race, while series leader Max Vidau took third for the round.

Shields (BF Racing Mygale) initially qualified second-fastest but lost his best lap time due to exceeding track limits and started Race 1 from fifth position.

The 16-year-old nevertheless took victory in Race 1, by less than 0.04s, after a close battle with the Sonic Motor Racing pair of McElrea (Mygale) and Vidau (Mygale).

Vidau led the field away in Race 2 but Shields had it back by the end of the lap and was never headed again.

The Toowoomba driver then led all three laps of Race 3, which finished under Safety Car due to an incident involving Jake Donaldson.

Shields has now won five of the last six Australian Formula Ford races, elevating himself to second in the standings.

“We changed to a different car in the last round at Queensland, and it has been a massive improvement,” said Shields.

“Our pace was strong all weekend; (team owner) Brett Francis and the team did a great job of producing a race-winning package and even after the qualifying drama, I knew I had the speed to fight back to the front of the field.”

Vidau holds a reduced 45-point series lead after race results of third in Races 1 and 3 and fifth in Race 2 despite a spin.

Jayden Ojeda (Borland Racing Developments Spectrum) remains a mathematical title hope after finishing the round in fourth.

Mitch Maddren took claimed the Formula Ford 1600 (Kent Class) title, finishing ahead of previous class leader Tim Hamilton in all three races.

The final round of the national series will be held at Phillip Island on September 29-October 1.

Australian Formula Ford Series: Series points after Round 5 (Top 10)

  1. Max Vidau – 216
  2. Cameron Shields – 171
  3. Hunter McElrea – 168
  4. Jayden Ojeda – 160
  5. Cooper Murray – 118
  6. Liam McLellan – 107
  7. Nathan Herne – 104.5
  8. Harrison Jones – 95
  9. Zac Soutar – 64.5
  10. Jordan Boys – 55.5

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]