Davison wins first Carrera Cup endurance race

Alex Davison out front at Sandown

Alex Davison has taken out the first race of Carrera Cup’s Endurance Cup as a third-place finish for Nick McBride was enough to score the overall weekend victory at Sandown.

Starting second on the grid, Davison got a great jump to head McBride and Andre Heimgartner into the opening bends.

Congestion in the mid-pack saw Michael Almond suffer radiator damage and his race ended in the pits.

Pressure from Heimgartner saw him pass McBride on the fourth lap, as behind Jaxon Evans made his way through the pack.

Davison was able to control things out front, while the next three all finished together at the chequered flag.

Davison’s victory in the final race saw him finish second overall for the weekend with Heimgartner in third. McBride the winner off the back of his victories in the opening two races and third place in the final hit out.

The battle was intense in the Tag Heuer Carrera Challenge with Tim Miles assuming the lead before he went off the track at Turn 1.

Then Stephen Grove took the lead, but he was in behind his son Brenton who was battling ill-handling after damaging his front splitter. Shahin was able to pass Grove, but soon after spun.

Stephen Grove took the race win and the overall victory in the semi-professional category from Miles.

The Carrera Cup next goes racing at Mount Panorama, including the second round of the Endurance Cup.


VIDEO: McBride and Grove speak after the final race

RESULTS: Carrera Cup – Race 3 : Sandown Raceway

Pos No. Driver Sponsor Class
1 888 Alex Davison President Limo Australia P
2 777 Andre Heimgartner Bob Jane T-Marts/Money Now P
3 77 Nick McBride Sonic/Bob Jane T-Marts P
4 7 Jaxon Evans Hungry Jacks P
5 88 Dylan O’Keeffe APB Group/President Limo Australia P
6 38 David Wall PAYCE/Wilson Security P
7 5 Cameron McConville Repair Management Australia P
8 136 James Abela Horsley Park Gun Shop P
9 4 Stephen Grove Grove Group C
10 23 Brenton Grove Porsche Centre Melbourne P
11 70 Tim Miles Miles Advisory Partners C
12 33 Simon Ellingham Peak Marketing P
13 9 Marc Cini Hallmarc C
14 79 Jordan Love Sonic Motor Racing/Quintis P
15 13 Sam Shahin HTFU C
16 22 Dean Cook Zonzo Racing C
17 131 Graham Williams WRA C
DNF 34 John Morriss Motorsport Leasing/Race Ramps C
DNF 26 Michael Almond Copyworld P



Position Driver Points
1 David Wall 863
2 Andre Heimgartner 795
3 Alex Davison 777
4 Nick McBride 710
5 Dylan O’Keeffe 655
6 Jaxon Evans 631.5
7 Cameron McConville 601
8 James Abela 424
9 Stephen Grove 375
10 Michael Almond 317
11 Simon Ellingham 265
12 Marc Cini 233.5
13 Lars Kern 200.5
14 Sam Shahin 195.5
15 Graham Williams 155.5
16 Tim Miles 155
17 Dean Cook 122
18 Dean Grant 120
19 Brenton Grove 91
20 Rob Woods 78
21 Shane Smollen 49
22 Jordan Love 44
23 Matt Palmer 40


TAG Heuer Carrera Challenge Standings

Position Driver Points
1 Stephen Grove 973
2 Marc Cini 656.5
3 Tim Miles 454
4 Sam Shahin 453
5 Graham Williams 422.5
6 Dean Cook 412
7 Dean Grant 153
8 Matt Palmer 144
9 Shane Smollen 136
10 Rob Woods 129



Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]