Reynolds takes pole for Qualifying Race 1

David Reynolds

David Reynolds has secured pole position for #9 Erebus Motorsport entry ahead of this afternoon’s first qualifying race at the Wilson Security Sandown 500.

Reynolds impressed throughout the 20 minute session which was held in changeable conditions at the Melbourne circuit.

The Erebus driver jumped to the top of the times with a 1:08.79s prior to the halfway mark.

Prodrive’s Mark Winterbottom then found the top spot before being eclipsed by Scott McLaughlin in the #17 Shell V-Power Racing Falcon.

However, Reynolds responded to lower the benchmark to a 1:08.57s, which proved enough to claim pole by a margin of 0.0026s.

“We were really concerned after yesterday, we were really slow in the wet, but yeah man that was awesome,” said Reynolds.

“We didn’t touch the car since we rolled out, we just stuck with our base set-up, and it obviously paid off. I always try to get up to speed as quick as I can. I am really proud of everyone.”

A late rain shower provided drivers a challenge while the damp surface slowed the pace for the final minutes.

Chaz Mostert claimed third in the #55 Supercheap Auto Falcon while Winterbottom slid to fourth in the sister #5 Prodrive entry.

Fabian Coulthard (Shell V-Power Racing) and Cameron Waters (Prodrive) made it five Ford Falcons in the top six.

Six-time champion Jamie Whincup was the first of the Triple Eight runners in seventh, while Garth Tander (Garry Rogers Motorsport), Nick Percat (Brad Jones Racing) and Michael Caruso (Nissan Motorsport) rounded out the top 10.

Craig Lowndes qualified 11th while Triple Eight team-mate Shane van Gisbergen struggled for pace, which left the car in 16th spot for this afternoon’s qualifying race for the co-drivers.

The Kiwi suffered a spin at Turn 4 late on as he went in search of a lap time.

“He (van Gisbergen) had a bit of an instability on entry so he couldn’t maximise his way into the corner and obviously if you’re losing on the way in you’re never going to maximise on the way out either,” said Triple Eight team manager Mark Dutton.

“We didn’t do a good job with the cars, everyone had the same amount of running on dry track, which was only really this morning and a little bit of P1 (Practice 1), so we haven’t executed well.

“We have lots of faith in him (co-driver Matt Campbell), he doesn’t have to go and race 110 percent or anything silly like that.

“He just has to chip away, if there are opportunities then by all means take them, but don’t force it, don’t take undue risks; that’s not what’s needed, that’s not what’s required for him to do.”

James Courtney was top Mobil 1 HSV Racing driver in 15th position.

The opening Armor All Race for the Grid encounter, to be run by co-drivers, is scheduled for 1345 AEST.

Results: Virgin Australia Supercars Championship Wilson Security Sandown 500 Qualifying for Race to the Grid 1

1 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore VF 1:08.5791*SS
2 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:08.5817 SS 00.0026
3 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:08.5826 SS 00.0035
4 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:08.6086 SS 00.0295
5 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:08.6167 SS 00.0376
6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:08.7745 SS 00.1954
7 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VF 1:08.7778 SS 00.1987
8 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore VF 1:08.8104 SS 00.2313
9 Mongrel Boots Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore VF 1:08.8593 SS 00.2802
10 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:08.8888 SS 00.3097
11 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VF 1:08.8900 SS 00.3109
12 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore VF 1:08.8980 SS 00.3189
13 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:08.9105 SS 00.3314
14 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VF 1:08.9764 SS 00.3973
15 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore VF 1:09.1591 SS 00.5800
16 Red Bull Holden Racing Aust Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore VF 1:09.2098 SS 00.6307
17 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Nissan Altima 1:09.2389 SS 00.6598
18 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Holden Commodore VF 1:09.2691 SS 00.6900
19 TEKNO Woodstock Racing Will Davison Holden Commodore VF 1:09.2872 SS 00.7081
20 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.2946 SS 00.7155
21 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Holden Commodore VF 1:09.3298 SS 00.7507
22 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore VF 1:09.3560 SS 00.7769
23 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore VF 1:09.3954 SS 00.8163
24 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:09.6216 SS 01.0425
25 Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Holden Commodore VF 1:10.1841 SS 01.6050
26 Repair Management Aust Racing Alex Rullo Holden Commodore VF 1:10.5567 SS 01.9776

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]