McLaughlin receives Armor All Pole Champion award

Saturday 16th September, 2017 - 12:53pm


Scott McLaughlin is presented with the 2017 Armor All Pole Position Champion award at Sandown pic: Armor All Facebook

Scott McLaughlin has been officially presented with the 2017 Armor All Pole Champion award at the Wilson Security Sandown 500.

The Shell V-Power Racing driver took an unassailable lead in the pole position count at the last event at Sydney Motorsport Park when he qualified fastest for both races.

McLaughlin has qualified on pole for the last seven races in a row, and 13 times in total this season after just 18 races so far.

The 24-year-old was presented with a cheque for $10,000 for his achievement.

“This is literally the biggest cheque I have ever seen,” said McLaughlin.

“It is going to look cool and look good on a few boarding passes for Vegas, apparently.

“It is awesome, for everyone at Shell V-Power Racing, all our partners and supporters.

“It has been an awesome year so far; we have a long way to go and a lot more things we want to tick off but to have this wrapped up so early is pretty special.

“The car I have is amazing and I am a very lucky boy to get to drive it and be able to do what I can do with it.”

Armor All has awarded more than $1 million in prize money to pole sitters since the inception of the award, with 27 drivers having earned pole position in that time.

Today’s Armor All Qualifying at Sandown is a unique process whereby the starting grid is determined in three parts.

Primary drivers will qualify their respective cars for Race for The Grid 1, a 20-lap race for co-drivers, with the results for that race setting the starting line-up for Race for The Grid 2.

That 20-lap encounter for primary drivers will finalise the starting grid for the Sandown 500, and thus also the Armor All Pole Award.

Armor All Pole Champions

2017 Scott McLaughlin
2016 Shane van Gisbergen
2015 Chaz Mostert
2014 Jamie Whincup
2013 Jamie Whincup
2012 Will Davison
2011 Jamie Whincup
2010 Jamie Whincup
2009 Jamie Whincup
2008 Jamie Whincup
2007 Mark Winterbottom
2006 Mark Skaife

Supercars Championship Armor All Pole Award winners

Mark Skaife
Garth Tander
Jason Bright
Todd Kelly
James Courtney
Mark Winterbottom
Rick Kelly
Jamie Whincup
Steven Richards
Craig Lowndes
Steve Johnson
Jason Richards
Will Davison
Jason Bargwanna
Lee Holdsworth
Alex Davison
Paul Dumbrell
Greg Murphy
David Reynolds
Shane van Gisbergen
Tim Slade
Fabian Coulthard
Scott McLaughlin
Chaz Mostert
Scott Pye
Cameron Waters
Chris Pither comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!