Chairman to retire from Supercars Commission

Steve Horne

Steve Horne pictured during his IndyCar days

Supercars Commission chairman Steve Horne is set to step down from his role at the end of his term.

The championship’s official website has confirmed that the former IndyCar team owner has informed the Commission that he won’t be standing for re-election in October.

Horne took over the chairman position from five-time Supercars champion Mark Skaife in 2013.

“With Commission matters in rude health, Steve wanted to spend more time travelling and enjoying time with his family,” Supercars CEO James Warburton told the series’ official website.

“The respect with which we all regard Steve, as well as the genuine respect in the entire Supercars paddock is testament to the work he has tirelessly done as our Commission Chairman over the past four years.

“On behalf of the Commission and our sport we thank Steve for his true professionalism and guidance in leading the Commission, to its current form as an extremely effective and focused body.”

The Supercars Commission, which comprises team representatives Todd Kelly, Tim Edwards and Brad Jones, independent Neil Crompton and Supercars CEO James Warburton and chief operating officer Shane Howard, will now seek to find a replacement.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]