Stanaway breaks through in Super2 Race 4 at SMP

Richie Stanaway pic: Matthew Paul Photography

Richie Stanaway has scored his first race win in a Supercar in his first round start in the Dunlop Super2 Series at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Stanaway (Prodrive Racing Australia FGX Falcon) for all but half a lap early in the race, with Macauley Jones (Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore) and Garry Jacobson (Prodrive Racing Australia FGX Falcon) making up the minor placings.

The New Zealand sensation made a great start to drive past Race 3 winner Anton de Pasquale (Paul Morris Motorsport FGX Falcon) and into the lead at Turn 1, clear of the carnage unfolding behind him.

Jack Le Brocq (MW Motorsport Altima) was slow away and soon found himself headlong into the pit wall thanks to a tag from Will Brown, who had been pushed across into Le Brocq due to side-to-side contact with Richard Muscat (Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore).

Around the corner, Andrew Jones ended up spinning in his Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore as Shae Davies pulled off to the side of the track due to damage to his MW Motorsport Altima.

While Davies himself did not know who had hit him, race control has advised that an incident between Davies and Jack Smith (Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore) at Turn 1 on Lap 1 will be investigated post-race.

The stricken MW Altimas saw the Safety Car deployed before a restart on Lap 4 when second-placed de Pasquale drove alongside Stanaway, just managed to not overtake before the control line, then took over the lead at Turn 1.

However, he held the lead only half a lap before Stanaway hit back at Turn 6 and eventually drove away to a 4.9s victory in a race shortened from 18 to 15 laps, setting a new lap record in the process.

“I can’t ask for much more than that,” said Stanaway.

“I was really keen to get a win this weekend, so I’m glad we got there in the end.

“I’m just really grateful for the opportunity from PRA and all of the sponsors that have jumped onboard this weekend to give them the opportunity to do this, so I really enjoyed it and really happy to get that win.”

Macauley Jones took a personal-best second place after he benefited from de Pasquale’s struggles on an older set of tyres.

Jacobson also drove underneath car #67 at Turn 2 on Lap 13 to finish third, after earlier getting involved in a willing stoush with Paul Dumbrell over fourth position.

De Pasquale’s fourth placing was enough to give him the round win, ahead of the Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodores of Dumbrell and Will Brown.

Bryce Fullwood (MW Motorsport Altima) finished seventh, having applied big pressure to Brown without being able to find a way past.

Todd Hazelwood (Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore) was eighth from Lap 4 until the end, dropping five positions from third place just after the restart when he ran completely off the road at Turn 1.

Josh Kean (Prodrive Racing Australia FGX Falcon) and Mason Barbera (Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore) rounded out the top 10.

Just five points separate Hazelwood and second-placed Dumbrell in the series standings after the latter won the first two races of the weekend.

Round 6 supports the next Supercars event with two races at the Wilson Security Sandown 500, from September 15 to 17.

Results: Race 4, Round 5, Sydney Motorsport Park

1 Prodrive Racing Australia Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 15 26:56.2323
2 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 15 27:01.0942
3 MEGA Fuels Racing Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 15 27:02.0049
4 Paul Morris Motorsports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG/X 15 27:03.6010
5 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 15 27:06.1478
6 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 15 27:09.8513
7 Middys Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima 15 27:10.5555
8 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 15 27:10.6829
9 Wynns Josh Kean Ford Falcon FG/X 15 27:16.1739
10 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 15 27:16.4243
11 Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 15 27:21.4501
12 Alliance Truck Parts Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 15 27:23.2647
13 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 15 27:23.9560
14 Sprint Cutting Racing Brodie Kostecki Ford Falcon FG 15 27:28.0070
15 The Chahda’s Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 15 27:28.4966
16 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 15 27:33.1375
17 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Holden Commodore VF 15 27:35.0584
18 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 15 27:35.5183
19 STR Truck Bodies & Trailers Matthew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 15 27:36.7403
20 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 15 28:25.6450
21 Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 14 27:27.4304
DNF LOCO Energy Drink / MWM Shae Davies Nissan Altima
DNF GoGetta Racing/ MWM Jack Le Brocq Nissan Altima

Series Points: After Round 5

1 Todd Hazelwood 1283
2 Paul Dumbrell 1278
3 Jack Le Brocq 1073
4 Anton de Pasquale 1034
5 Garry Jacobson 878
6 Shae Davies 871
7 Macauley Jones 830
8 William Brown 793
9 Richard Muscat 744
10 Kurt Kostecki 705
11 Andrew Jones 637
12 Jack Perkins 627
13 Bryce Fullwood 615
14 Nathan Morcom 573
15 Renee Gracie 534
16 Mason Barbera 514
17 Jake Kostecki 501
18 Adam Marjoram 498
19 Brodie Kostecki 484
20 Matthew Chahda 471
21 Jack Smith 437
22 Matthew Palmer 436
23 Josh Kean 398
24 Richie Stanaway 263
25 Gerard McLeod 102

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]