Jamec Pem wins again in AEC in Sydney

The #75 Audi R8 of Jaxon Evans and Tim Miles pic: Matthew Paul Photography

Jaxon Evans and Tim Miles have again combined to deliver the Jamec Pem Audi team victory in the Australian Endurance Championship Sydney Motorsport Park 501.

The #75 R8 crew therefore backs up its victory in May’s Phillip Island 500 as the sister #74 entry of Kelvin van der Linde and Geoff Emery finished third.

They were split by the #911 Walkinshaw Racing Porsche 911 GT3-R of Liam Talbot and John Martin.

The race got off to a dramatic start when pole-sitter Talbot and fellow front row starter Emery touched in the first corner.

Emery spun and sailed far off into the outfield but pulled up just before the gravel trap and rejoined the circuit at the back of the order.

Scott Taylor suffered an even bigger moment at the same corner just a lap later when he ran off the edge of the track and flicked back across the circuit before copping a huge hit with the inside wall.

Scott Taylor comes to grief

Taylor, who had been attempting to stay in front of Dylan O’Keeffe (#124 KFC Audi R8), was seen standing up outside his #222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT, before being conveyed to the medical centre.

Cars #6 (Zagame Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan), #19 (Griffith Mercedes-AMG GT), and #74 pitted under the resulting Safety Car, replacing their am drivers with pros.

Kelvin van der Linde joined the train in 14th in car #74, but the factory Audi driver made incredibly light work of climbing through the field when the race restarted on Lap 11.

He needed only three laps to get to second, by which time Talbot lead by 4.7s, and another three laps to round up the Porsche.

With the am drivers trying to save fuel in order to make their minimum driver distance of 59 laps in a single stint, van der Linde disappeared.

By the time Mercedes-AMG factory driver Dominik Baumann, in Mark Griffith’s #19 car, took over second position on Lap 29, van der Linde was over 30s ahead.

Cameron McConville in car #6 passed Talbot for third on Lap 37, just as then-fifth placed O’Keeffe kicked off the first full round of pit stops

Van der Linde was called in at the end of Lap 40 and Baumann two laps later.

Those positions remained effectively unchanged before McConville split them when he pitted at the end of Lap 44.

Out in front, Talbot, O’Keeffe, and Miles managed to stretch their first stint to 59 laps, with all pitting as soon as they got to the threshold.

However, James Bergmuller came up half a lap short and became stranded on-track in Steven Richards’ BMW M6, triggering the second Safety Car period of the race.

Van der Linde, who had also moved on to something of a fuel-save mode, thus lost a 30-plus second lead over McConville.

Behind them, Peter Edwards was third but waiting to serve his first CPS (not counted under Safety Car) and Baumann also on the lead lap, while Jaxon Evans took over #75 in eighth and Talbot was ninth.

The race restarted on Lap 64 and van der Linde rebuilt his lead to over 10 seconds before McConville handed car #6 over to Adrian Deitz for a 58-lap run home.

The rest of the field soon followed in order to fill up for the run to the finish, handing Deitz the race lead after car #74 lost time in the pits due to the LED windscreen timer going out.

However, Emery only needed four laps to regain the lead for the #74 Audi on Lap 77.

Griffith, back in car #19, moved into second position on Lap 85, but Evans in turn passed Griffith on Lap 87 as Deitz began to fall down the order.

The final 40 laps became a race in three, with Evans initially facing a 32s deficit to Emery but catching up to be on the tail of his team-mate on Lap 109.

Emery appeared to let the young Kiwi through at the final corner, with the threat of then third-placed Martin already apparent.

That threat did materialise when Martin latched onto the rear of Emery’s Audi and passed on Lap 118, with Evans now 8.6s up the road.

The move set up a grandstand finish, with Martin at times making up a second per lap.

While traffic looked like it might cost Evans precious seconds, he managed to clear the back-markers easily enough to win by 3.2s in a race which was shortened by a lap due to time certainty.

Emery ended up just over 40s adrift of his victorious team-mates in his and van der Linde’s comeback from the first-corner collision.

O’Keeffe/Daniel Gaunt finished fourth and Edwards/Graham Smyth (#88 Maranello Motorsport Ferrari 488) fifth.

Peter Hackett/Dom Storey (#63 Eggleston Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT) were off the lead lap in sixth after needing a late fuel stop, while Baumann/Griffith ultimately took seventh and McConville/Deitz eighth.

Warren Luff also required a late splash and dash in Fraser Ross’ McElrea Racing McLaren 650S, consigning them to ninth, with the top 10 rounded out by Andrew Macpherson and Brad Shiels (#51 AMAC Motorsport Lamborghini Huracan).

The #5 GT Motorsport Audi R8 of Grant Denyer and Greg Taylor and the #8 Mercedes-AMG GT of Tony D’Alberto and Max Twigg were disqualified for failing to take their second compulsory pit stop inside the mandated pit window.

The #23 Lago Racing Lamborghini R-EX of David Russell and Roger Lago never took the start.

Results: Sydney Motorsport Park 501

1 Valvoline T.Miles/J.Evans Audi R8 LMS 128 3:32:09.9047
2 MEGA Racing L.Talbot/J.Martin Porsche 911 GT3-R 128 3:32:13.1089
3 Valvoline G.Emery/K.Linde Audi R8 LMS 128 3:32:51.6563
4 Kentucky Fried Chicken D.Gaunt/D.O’Keefe Audi R8 LMS 128 3:33:12.9110
5 Maranello Motorsport P.Edwards/G.Smyth Ferrari 488 GT3 128 3:33:36.0069
6 Eggleston Motorsport P.Hackett/D.Storey Mercedes Benz AMG GT 127 3:32:30.4682
7 Hogs Breath Cafe / Griffith Co M.Griffith/D.Baumann Mercedes Benz AMG GT 127 3:32:52.6172
8 Timken / Zagame Autosport A.Deitz/C.McConville Lamborghini Huracan 127 3:33:09.2766
9 YNA Autosport / McElrea Racing F.Ross/W.Luff McLaren 650S GT3 127 3:33:36.3375
10 AMAC Motorsport – IMAK-Kwikmit A.Macpherson/B.Shiels Lamborghini Huracan 126 3:33:32.3652
11 Haemokinesis / Whispering Vine J.Manolios/R.Millier Lamborghini Huracan 123 3:32:13.4152
12 Darrell Lea T.Quinn/J.Reid McLaren 650S GT3 123 3:33:46.0837
13 BMW Team SRM S.Richards/J.Bergmuller BMW M6 GT3 121 3:32:52.3462
DNF WM Waste M.Twigg/T.D’Alberto Mercedes Benz AMG GT 116 3:14:27.9169
DNF GT Motorsport G.Taylor/G.Denyer Audi R8 LMS 115 3:14:11.1456
DNF Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor (QLD) Mercedes Benz AMG GT   1    1:41.6811

Championship points: After Round 2

Pos Driver Total
1 Tim Miles 416
Jaxon Evans 416
2 Liam Talbot 332
John Martin 332
3 Dominic Storey 320
Peter Hackett 320
4 Geoff Emery 317
5 Peter Edwards 253
Graeme Smyth 253
6 Fraser Ross 251
Warren Luff 251
7 Mark Griffith 235
8 Daniel Gaunt 233
9 Adrian Deitz 202
Cam McConville 202
10 Jim Manolios 171
Ryan Millier 171
11 Dylan O’Keeffe 161
12 Andrew Macpherson 158
Brad Shiels 158
13 Tony Quinn 151
14 Steve Richards 139
James Bergmuller 139
15 Garth Tander 129
16 Jake Camilleri 114
17 Roger Lago 104
David Russell 104
18 Max Twigg 101
Tony D’Alberto 101
19 Johnny Reid 88
20 Matt Stoupas 72
21 Danny Stuttered 68
Sam Fillmore 68
Mike Whiddett 63
22 Ash Samadi 58
Chris Pither 58
23 Peter Major 6
Glen Wood 6
24 Scott Taylor 2
  Craig Baird 2

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]