Oran Park Town to recognise motorsport greats

The iconic bridge which was a distinguishing feature of Oran Park Raceway

A selection of Australian motorsport greats will be honoured at the site of the former race circuit at Oran Park.

The New South Wales venue played a pivotal role in the Australian Touring Car Championship/Supercars from 1971-2008, before the track closed down in 2010 and was redeveloped for housing.

Now known as Oran Park Town, the area, which is home to 7,000 residents, has moved to recognise its rich motorsport heritage with the creation of a special Walk of Fame.

On Thursday the Walk of Fame will be officially opened with nine Australian motorsport greats set to be announced as the first group of honourees.

A list of almost 30 has been compiled by Tony Perich AM and his family, who owned Oran Park Raceway, and led the redevelopment of the facility.

“We’ve always made sure the motor racing heritage lives on at Oran Park Town,” said Perich.

“I’m excited to honour these legendary drivers and riders. My family and I are passionate about keeping the memory of the Raceway alive in Sydney’s fastest growing town.”

This is yet a further reminder of its past alongside the area’s streets and parks which have been named after famous motorsport identities.

A small memorial will also be unveiled to honour the competitors who lost their lives while competing at the track.

Over the next few years, further stages and names will be added to the Walk of Fame.

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]