Miller to start Suzuka 8 Hours from fifth

Saturday 29th July, 2017 - 11:10pm


Jack Miller

Jack Miller is one of four Australians whose bike will start in the top 10 for tomorrow’s Suzuka 8 Hours.

Miller, Josh Brookes, Josh Hook, and Broc Parkes were all on bikes which made it through to the shootout-style Top 10 Trial.

The Trial saw two riders from each of the top 10 bikes complete a lap each, with the fastest times for the respective bikes finalising the starting grid for the iconic enduro.

Broc Parkes pic: Yamaha Suzuka 8 Hours Twitter

Parkes was the only Australian of the four to ride his bike, the #7 YART Yamaha Official EWC Team entry, with his effort of 2:07.634s earning sixth on the grid for he, Kohta Nozane (Japan), and Marvin Fritz (Germany).

The trio maintained the position they had provisionally earned during the earlier qualifying sessions.

Brookes’ #12 Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing bike remained second, Hook’s #5 F.C.C. TSR Honda gained a position to qualify fourth, while Miller’s #634 MuSAHI RT HARC-PRO Honda bike dropped from third to fifth.

Katsuyuki Nakasuga gave the Yamaha Factory Racing Team its third straight pole position at Suzuka.

Tomorrow’s race starts at 1230 AEST.

See below for starting positions for all Australian riders

Pos Num Class Team Bike Rider Rider Rider
1 21 EWC Yamaha Factory Racing Team Y-YZF-R1 Katsuyuki Nakasuga (JPN) Alex Lowes (GBR) Michael van der Mark (NED)
2 12 EWC Yoshimura Suzuki Motul Racing S-GSX-R1000 L7 Sylvain Guintoli (FRA) Takuya Tsuda (JPN) Josh Brookes (AUS)
3 11 EWC Kawasaki Team Green K-ZX-10RR Kazuma Watanabe (JPN) Leon Haslam (GBR) Azlan Shah Bin Kamaruzaman (MAS)
4 5 EWC FCC TSR Honda H-CBR 1000RR SP2 Randy De Puniet (FRA) Dominique Aegerter (SUI) Josh Hook (AUS)
5 634 EWC Musashi RT Harc-Pro Honda H-CBR 1000RR SP2 Takumi Takahashi (JPN) Takaaki Nakagami (JPN) Jack Miller (AUS)
6 7 EWC YART-Yamaha Y-YZF-R1 Kohta Nozane (JPN) Broc Parkes (AUS) Marvin Fritz (GER)
7 19 EWC Moriwaki Motul Racing H-CBR 1000RR SP2 Ryuichi Kiyonari (JPN) Yuki Takahashi (JPN) Dan Linfoot (GBR)
8 25 EWC Honda Suzuka Racing Team H-CBR 1000RR Yudai Kamei (JPN) Daijiro Hiura (JPN) Takashi Yasuda (JPN)
9 71 EWC Team Kagayama S-GSX-R1000 L7 Yukio Kagayama (JPN) Hafizh Syahrin (MAS) Naomichi Uramoto (JPN)
10 22 EWC Satu Hati Honda Team Asia H-CBR 1000RR SP2 Dimes Ekky Pratama (IDN) Ratthapong Wilairot (THA) Md. Zaqhwan Zaidi (MAS)
11 95 EWC S-Pulse Dream Racing-IAI S-GSX-R1000 Hideyuki Ogata (JPN) Marcel Schrotter (GER) Alex Cudlin (AUS)
14 79 EWC Team SuP Dream Honda H-CBR 1000RR SP2 Shinichi Ito (JPN) Damian Cudlin (AUS) Gregg Black (FRA)
16 03 EWC MotoMapSupply FutureAccess S-GSX-R1000 Josh Waters (AUS) Nobuatsu Aoki (JPN) Yoshihiro Konno (JPN)
18 72 EWC Honda Dream RT Sakurai Honda H-CBR 1000RR SP2 Ryo Mizuno (JPN) Jason Mark O’Halloran (AUS) Jamie Stauffer (AUS)
23 83 EWC TeamJP, DFR&RS-ITOH K-ZX-10RR Kazuki Watanabe (JPN) Mark Aitchison (AUS) Masahiro Shinjo (JPN)
25* 74 SST Akeno-Speed Yamaha Y-YZF-R1 Anthony West (AUS) Makoto Inagaki (JPN) Alex Schacht (DEN)

* 2nd in Superstock class comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!