Power on IndyCar pole in Iowa

Will Power pic: Iowa Speedway Twitter

Will Power has benefited from being last car out as he took his 48th IndyCar Series pole in qualifying for the Iowa 300.

Power denied JR Hildebrand his first IndyCar pole in the process, with a second row of Helio Castroneves and Ed Carpenter, meaning a Team Penske Chevrolet on the inside and an Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet on the outside of each of the first two rows.

Hildebrand had got around the 0.875mi tri-oval at an average speed of 183.811mph (295.815km/h) despite a wiggle between Turns 1 and 2, bouncing back from a practice crash in the morning to go fastest of the first 11 drivers.

Castroneves was the very next car our but fell just short (183.712mph, 295.656km/h), before Carpenter (183.503mph, 295.320km/h) assumed third-quickest behind those two with four cars left to make their qualifying runs.

Power was the last of the 21 drivers and set an average speed of 185.210mph (298.067km/h) during his two laps to collect pole number four of the season.

Takuma Sato was the fastest Honda, fifth for Andretti Autosport.

The two other Team Penske Chevrolets of Simon Pagenaud and Josef Newgarden, and Chip Ganassi Honda driver Scott Dixon are much further back than they would have liked after being the first three out in qualifying.

Pagenaud is 11th, Newgarden 16th, and Dixon, the last-start winner and series leader, 17th.

Carlos Muñoz failed to set a time after hitting the wall during qualifying in his AJ Foyt Chevrolet.

The 300-lap Iowa Corn 300, the eleventh race of the 2017 Verizon IndyCar Series, starts tomorrow at 0740 AEST.

Qualifying: Iowa 300

Pos Driver C/A/E/T Lap 1 Lap 2 Total time
1 Will Power D/C/C/F 17.3929 17.3612 00:34.7541
2 JR Hildebrand D/C/C/F 17.4635 17.5550 00:35.0185
3 Helio Castroneves D/C/C/F 17.4323 17.6051 00:35.0374
4 Ed Carpenter D/C/C/F 17.5087 17.5687 00:35.0774
5 Takuma Sato D/H/H/F 17.6313 17.6092 00:35.2405
6 Mikhail Aleshin D/H/H/F 17.6951 17.5840 00:35.2791
7 Tony Kanaan D/H/H/F 17.6533 17.6373 00:35.2906
8 Ed Jones (R) D/H/H/F 17.6351 17.6756 00:35.3107
9 James Hinchcliffe D/H/H/F 17.7812 17.7445 00:35.5257
10 Graham Rahal D/H/H/F 17.8306 17.7047 00:35.5353
11 Simon Pagenaud D/C/C/F 17.7926 17.7429 00:35.5355
12 Alexander Rossi D/H/H/F 17.7679 17.7678 00:35.5357
13 Max Chilton D/H/H/F 17.7927 17.7841 00:35.5768
14 Charlie Kimball D/H/H/F 17.8763 17.7130 00:35.5893
15 Ryan Hunter-Reay D/H/H/F 17.8020 17.8163 00:35.6183
16 Josef Newgarden D/C/C/F 17.8017 17.8903 00:35.6920
17 Scott Dixon D/H/H/F 17.8168 17.8834 00:35.7002
18 Esteban Gutierrez (R) D/H/H/F 18.0032 17.8785 00:35.8817
19 Conor Daly D/C/C/F 18.0040 18.0336 00:36.0376
20 Marco Andretti D/H/H/F 18.4225 19.0640 00:37.4865
21 Carlos Munoz D/C/C/F     No Time

(C)hassis: D=Dallara | (A)erokit: C=Chevy, H=Honda | (E)ngine: C=Chevy, H=Honda | (T)yre: F=Firestone

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]