Jacobson tops Super2 Practice 1 in Townsville

Garry Jacobson

Garry Jacobson has edged Paul Dumbrell to early honours in practice for Round 4 of the Dunlop Super2 Series in Townsville.

Jacobson went fastest during his second run at the halfway mark of the 40-minute session, lapping the Reid Park Street Circuit in a time of 1:15.44s.

The defending series winner then escaped a slight touch with the wall in his #1 Mega Fuels Prodrive Racing Australia Falcon, and while he couldn’t go quicker in his subsequent runs, the earlier time stood up.

Dumbrell held the top spot on two brief occasions in the #88 Burson Auto Parts Eggleston Motorsport Commodore, after the first timed laps and just before Jacobson’s fastest, but ultimately finished 0.05s short of the benchmark.

Anton de Pasquale (#67 ToolPro Paul Morris Motorsport Falcon) was third fastest, ahead of Macauley Jones (#14 DrillPro Brad Jones Racing Commodore) and Todd Hazelwood (#35 Bigmate Matt Stone Racing Commodore).

Hazelwood held first position after the opening runs.

The rest of the top 10 was filled by Jack Le Brocq (#28 GoGetta MW Motorsport Altima), Kurt Kostecki (#55 Arcoplate Kostecki Brothers Racing Commodore), Richard Muscat (#44 Wilson Security GRM Commodore), Will Brown (#38 Wilson MedicOne Eggleston Motorsport Commodore), and Andrew Jones (#8 Alliance Brad Jones Racing Commodore).

The session was largely trouble-free on track, though Macauley Jones did experience a spin at Turn 11 when he locked the rears of his car.

Shae Davies, however, was hampered by an electrical issue in his #26 Loco MW Motorsport Altima, and Renee Gracie’s session also ended early when her #98 Caltex Dragon Racing Commodore suffered brake problems.

Practice 2 will start at 1410 local time/AEST.

Results: Practice 1

1 McQuinn Electrical Garry Jacobson Ford Falcon FG/X 1:15.4429  
2 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 1:15.4970 0:00.0541
3 Paul Morris Motorsports Anton de Pasquale Ford Falcon FG/X 1:15.6414 0:00.1985
4 PAYCE Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:15.6830 0:00.2401
5 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 1:15.6837 0:00.2408
6 GoGetta Racing/ MWM Jack Le Brocq Nissan Altima 1:15.7146 0:00.2717
7 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:15.9058 0:00.4629
8 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore VF 1:15.9691 0:00.5262
9 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 1:16.0807 0:00.6378
10 Alliance Truck Parts Andrew Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:16.2474 0:00.8045
11 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 1:16.3169 0:00.8740
12 Middys Electrical / MWM Bryce Fullwood Nissan Altima 1:16.3358 0:00.8929
13 Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:16.4739 0:01.0310
14 Dragon Motor Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore VF 1:16.4753 0:01.0324
15 Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 1:16.5794 0:01.1365
16 Wynns Josh Kean Ford Falcon FG/X 1:16.7163 0:01.2734
17 Team Caltex Renee Gracie Holden Commodore VF 1:16.7771 0:01.3342
18 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 1:16.8934 0:01.4505
19 Sprint Cutting Racing Brodie Kostecki Ford Falcon FG 1:17.0774 0:01.6345
20 LOCO Energy Drink / MWM Shae Davies Nissan Altima 1:17.0857 0:01.6428
21 Falcon Spares & Repairs Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 1:17.2788 0:01.8359
22 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 1:17.2834 0:01.8405
23 Sherriff Electrical ABC Towing Gerard McLeod Ford Falcon FG 1:18.6679 0:03.2250
24 STR Truck Bodies & Trailers Matthew Palmer Ford Falcon FG 1:22.8298 0:07.3869

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]