Davison, Canto to join Toyota 86 field in Townsville

North Queensland Cowboys stars Jason Taumalolo and Jonathan Thurston launched the liveries

Alex Davison and Dean Canto will be the invited drivers for Round 2 of the Toyota 86 Racing Series in Townsville, with Steve Owen serving as mentor.

Davison and Canto headline a 29-strong field for the series’ first visit to Queensland, racing in the colours of local, Toyota-sponsored National Rugby League team the North Queensland Cowboys.

All three have previous experience from the inaugural season of Toyota 86 in 2016, with Owen and Canto running as invited drivers at Sydney Motorsport Park and Davison at Sydney Olympic Park.

Toyota has tweaked the invited driver feature for the second season of the Australian series, with two invited drivers and a non-driving mentor attending each round, after running three invited professionals at each round in 2016.

Warren Luff and Jason Bargwanna were the invited drivers for Round 1 at Phillip Island in April, the former becoming the first to win a race in the series, with Leanne Tander serving as mentor.

Jimmy Vernon leads the series after winning the first two races at Phillip Island and finishing runner-up to Luff in the third.

“We’re leading the series, but we’re not getting ahead of ourselves,” said Vernon.

“It’s a very competitive series and everyone is pushing 100 per cent, so we’ll strive to be in the top ten and if things go well in the top five.

“Obviously the Townsville circuit is new to everyone in an 86, but I have driven there in another category (Formula 4), so it will be exciting.

“You’ll need to have your brain switched on because if you allow someone to slip up the inside of you, there will be a whole train of other drivers trying to follow them through.”

Round 2 supports the Watpac Townsville 400 on July 7-9.

Entry list: Round 2: Townsville Street Circuit

No. Team/Sponsor Name Driver State
3 Sieders Racing Team Aaron Borg NSW
5 Damon Strongman Racing Damon Strongman VIC
6 PK Transport Jake Klein VIC
7 Clintons Toyota / Sieders Racing Team Cameron Crick NSW
9 Aisin Australia / Bruce Williams Jimmy Vernon NSW
15 That English Bloke James Wilkins QLD
16 MAW / GMAX / Car Niche Benjamin Grice QLD
17 Toyota Racing Australia Alex Davison QLD
20 Slo-Mango Racing Timothy Beddoe VIC
21 Tempest Solutions / Pastro Custom AG / Castle Hill Toyota Zach Loscialpo NSW
22 Luke King Racing / Fast Track Communications / 4wd.net.au / JSD / Tint & Protect Luke King NSW
27 CXC Gobal Racing / CGR Performance Dylan Thomas NSW
30 Sci-Fleet Hino Aaron Seton QLD
34 Ultimate Karting Sydney Racing Tim Brook NSW
36 Toyota Racing Australia Dean Canto NSW
38 Sieders Racing Team / Longreach Tourist Park Luke van Herwaarde QLD
47 Calum Jones Motorsport Calum Jones QLD
48 Auto Approve Wilson / David Levy Motorsport Luke Searle NSW
53 Deagle Motor Sports Lachlan Deagle NSW
68 Samsung / WBT Gerard Maggs NSW
74 Pulse Racing / Zen Garage Trent Grubel NSW
77 CGR Performance Jacob Andrews NSW
90 Whiity Race Engineering Jarrod Whitty NSW
95 Triax Australia Aaron Cameron VIC
97 Liam McAdam Motorsport Liam McAdam QLD
98 Close-Line / Smart WFM Dylan Gulson NSW
99 Hazard Solutions Graham Smith VIC
111 Southern Star Truck Centre / National Capital Toyota Cameron Hill NSW
777 Sealand Birk Declan Fraser QLD

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]