Hazelwood lands BJR enduro drive

Todd Hazelwood will join Tim Blanchard for this year’s Pirtek Enduro Cup

Todd Hazelwood will make his Supercars’ Pirtek Enduro Cup debut with Brad Jones Racing following confirmation of the team’s co-driver line-up.

The Dunlop Super2 Series contender is now gearing up for his maiden Supercars race having been selected to join Tim Blanchard in the #21 Cooldrive entry.

Brad Jones Racing will field a second new pairing with Macauley Jones switching from the #21 to join Nick Percat in the #8 car, while Ash Walsh continues alongside Tim Slade in the Freightliner Racing Commodore.

Hazelwood emerged as contender for the seat after being called up for test at a wet Winton last month.

The 21-year-old described the opportunity as a proud moment of his burgeoning Supercars career.

“I am very proud and excited to be joining Tim Blanchard and Team CoolDrive in the 2017 Pirtek Endurance Cup,” said Hazelwood.

“I look forward to the challenge and seeing what Tim and I can achieve together.

“Tim has a great team around him at Brad Jones Racing and after working alongside the crew at Winton I can see myself fitting in really well and getting the most out of myself in the car.

“Although I have only driven the CoolDrive Commodore in the wet around Winton, I felt really comfortable and cannot wait to do some dry running soon.”

“Being my first endurance campaign I will be learning at a great rate and taking in as much as I can to assist Tim.

Macauley Jones will partner Nick Percat

“The BJR team showed last year their cars have great potential during the endurance season and I feel with the right preparation Tim and I can really put together some strong results.”

Confirmation of BJR’s line-up sees Andrew Jones, son of team co-owner Kim Jones, put on the sidelines having co-driven for the team after stepping back from full-time commitments in 2009.

“I’ve achieved some great things in my Supercars career and worked with some fantastic people,” said Andrew Jones.

“There are many fond memories from over the years; it’s now time for me to step back and give another guy a chance.

“Todd Hazelwood is a great kid and works really hard to be where he is. It will be great to have him as a part of the team and see what he can do.”

Meanwhile, Macauley Jones is eagerly awaiting his chance to partner 2011 Bathurst 1000 winner Nick Percat, with his enduro preparation boosted by wildcard appearances at Winton and Hidden Valley Raceway.

“I’ve been racing go-karts with Nick over the past couple of months and we’ve been helping each other out a lot,” said Macauley Jones.

“We’re working really well together and I’m eager to see what this new opportunity brings.

“I feel my preparation going into this has been my best yet so I can’t wait to get on track for the biggest and best races on the Supercars calendar.”

Team boss Brad Jones is confident the new pairings will deliver.

“Macauley and Todd are doing a brilliant job in the Super2 Series and the new pairings will provide them both with a fresh challenge,” said Brad Jones

“I believe they will both rise to the occasion and do a great job, and Nick and Tim agree.”

The announcement leaves Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport as the only team yet to confirm its enduro driver line up.

Pirtek Enduro Cup Driver line-up so far

# Team Driver Co-Driver Car
2 Mobil 1 HSV Racing Scott Pye Warren Luff Holden
3 LD Motorsport TBA TBA Holden
5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Dean Canto Ford
6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Richie Stanaway Ford
7 carsales Racing Todd Kelly Jack Le Brocq Nissan
8 Brad Jones Racing Nick Percat Macauley Jones Holden
9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Luke Youlden Holden
12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Tony D’Alberto Ford
14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Ash Walsh Holden
15 Sengled Racing Rick Kelly David Wall Nissan
17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Alex Premat Ford
18 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Karl Reindler Holden
19 TEKNO Woodstock Racing Will Davison Jonathon Webb Holden
21 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Todd Hazelwood Holden
22 Mobil 1 HSV Racing James Courtney Jack Perkins Holden
23 Nissan Motorsport Michael Caruso Dean Fiore Nissan
33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander James Golding Holden
34 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Moffat Richard Muscat Holden
55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Steve Owen Ford
56 MEGA Racing Jason Bright Garry Jacobson Ford
62 LD Motorsport Alex Rullo TBA Holden
78 Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro David Russell Nissan
88 Red Bull Holden Racing Australia Jamie Whincup Paul Dumbrell Holden
97 Red Bull Holden Racing Australia Shane van Gisbergen Matt Campbell Holden
99 Erebus GB Galvanizing Racing Dale Wood Chris Pither Holden
888 TeamVortex Craig Lowndes Steven Richards Holden

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]